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N.B.: This proposed 15-day change document is based on the text of 1 

the regulation as originally proposed, which was dated May 26, 2 

2004.  (That May 26 document was presented in strikeout/underline 3 

style.)  Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, changes to 4 

the text as originally proposed are shown in double strikeout/double 5 

underline style.  6 

Comments concerning these proposed 15-day changes must be 7 

received by 5 p.m., Thursday, September 9, 2004.  Comments may 8 

mailed to California Gambling Control Commission (Att’n: Herb 9 

Bolz), P.O. Box 526013, Sacramento, CA. 95852-6031; faxed to (916) 10 

263-0452; emailed to hbolz@cgcc.ca.gov.; or hand-delivered to 11 

Suite 100, 2399 Gateway Oaks Drive, Sacramento, CA 95833-4231. 12 

In comments, please specify the page and line number of the 13 

regulation on which you are commenting. 14 

******************************************** 15 

Title 4, California Code of Regulations, Division 18 16 

Chapter 2.1. Third-Party Providers of Proposition Player 17 

Services: Interim Registration; Licensing 18 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 19 
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Article 2.  Interim Registration 1 

Article 3.  Licensing 2 

Chapter 2.2 Gambling Businesses: Registration; Licensing 3 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 4 

Article 2.  Registration 5 

Article 3.  Licensing 6 

**************************************************** 7 

Chapter 2.1. Third-Party Providers of Proposition Player 8 

Services: Interim Registration; Licensing 9 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 10 

 11 

Section 12200  Definitions 12 

 13 

Section 12200.1  Certificate 14 

 15 

Section 12200.3. Badge 16 

 17 

Section 12200.5  Replacement of Badge 18 

 19 
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Section 12200.6 Transfer of Player Registration or License; 1 

Additional Badge 2 

 3 

Section 12200.7  Proposition Player Contract Criteria 4 

 5 

Section 12200.9 Review and Approval of Proposition Player 6 

Contracts 7 

Section 12200.10A Expedited Review and Approval of Proposition 8 

Player Contracts 9 

Section 12200.10B Review and Approval of Amendments to   10 

    Proposition Player Contracts 11 

Section 12200.10C Submission of Contract or Amendment to 12 

Commission 13 

Section 12200.10D  Superseding of Contract Provisions 14 

  15 

Section 12200.11Extension Proposition of Proposition Player Contracts 16 

Extensions 17 

 18 

Section 12200.13 Playing Books 19 

Section 12200.14 Organization Chart and Employee Report 20 

Section 12200.15 Transfers and Sales 21 

 22 
Section 12200.16 Inspections and Investigations 23 
 24 
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Section 12200.17 Emergency Orders 1 

 2 

Section 12200.18 Revocation 3 

Section 12200.19 Special Authorizations and Limitations 4 

 5 

Section 12200.20 Non-refundable Annual Fee 6 

Section 12200.21 Compliance 7 

 8 

Article 2.  Interim Registration 9 

 10 

Section 12200.25 Transition to Licensing 11 

Section 12201  Registration 12 

Section 12202  Application for Registration 13 

Section 12203 Processing of Applications for Initial and 14 

Renewal Registration 15 

Section 12203.1  Temporary Player Registration 16 

Section 12203.2 Application for Temporary Player Registration: 17 

Application; Criteria 18 

Section 12203.3 Processing Times for Temporary Player 19 

Registration 20 

Section 12203.4 Effect of Denial or Cancellation of Temporary 21 

Registration 22 
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Section 12203.5  Cancellation of Temporary Registration 1 

Section 12204  Ineligibility for Registration  2 

Section 12205  Cancellation of Registration 3 

Section 12206  Badge [To be repealed] 4 

Section 12207  Proposition Player Contract Criteria 5 

[To be repealed] 6 

Section 12208 Review and Approval of Proposition Player 7 

Contracts [To be repealed] 8 

Section 12209  Playing Books [To be repealed] 9 

Section 12210  Transfers and Sales [To be repealed] 10 

Section 12211  Inspections [To be repealed] 11 

Section 12212  Compliance [To be repealed] 12 

Section 12213  Revocation [To be repealed] 13 

Section 12214  Emergency Orders [To be repealed] 14 

Article 3.  Licensing 15 

Section 12218.  Application for Initial Licensing Request to 16 

Convert Registration to License 17 

Section 12218.5 Withdrawal of Request to Convert Registration to 18 

License 19 
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Section 12218.7 Processing Times--Request to Convert 1 

Registration to License 2 

Section 12218.11 Ineligibility for Licensing 3 

Section 12218.13 Term of License 4 

Section 12218.15 Compliance [To be repealed] 5 

Section 12218.17 Background Investigation Deposit [To be 6 

repealed] 7 

Section 12218.19 Term of License 8 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 9 

 10 

Section 12200. Definitions 11 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b), the definitions in Business 12 

and Professions Code section 19805 shall govern the construction of this 13 

chapter. 14 

(b)  As used in this chapter:   15 

(1) “Applicant” means the an applicant for registration or licensing under 16 

this chapter, including in the case of an owner that is a corporation, 17 

partnership, or any other business entity, all persons whose 18 

registrations or licenses are required to be endorsed upon the primary 19 

owner’s registration or license certificate.  20 
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(2) “Authorized player” means an individual associated with a particular 1 

primary owner whose badge authorizes play in a controlled game on 2 

behalf of the primary owner, including the primary owner, all other 3 

owners, all supervisors, and all players.  “Authorized player” does not 4 

include funding sources or owners who have been issued a non-5 

playing badge.  Only authorized players may perform the functions of 6 

a supervisor or player. 7 

(2)(3) “Badge" means a form of identification issued by the Commission 8 

identifying a registrant or licensee.  A badge authorizing play in a 9 

controlled game shall be of a distinctly different color than a badge, 10 

which identifies a registrant or licensee, but does not authorize play. 11 

(3)(4) “Bureau” means the Bureau of Criminal Identification and 12 

Information of the California Department of Justice. 13 

(4) (5)“Commission” means the California Gambling Control Commission. 14 

(5) (6) “Deadly weapon” means any weapon, the possession or concealed 15 

carrying of which is prohibited by Penal Code section 12020. 16 

(6) (7) “Division” means the Division of Gambling Control in the California 17 

Department of Justice.  Documents required by this chapter to be sent 18 

(or information required to be furnished) to the Division shall be sent 19 

to the Sacramento office of the Division. Information that this chapter 20 

requires to be sent to the Division shall be submitted in writing to the 21 

Sacramento office of the Division. 22 
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(7) (8) “Executive Director” means the Executive Director of the 1 

Commission or such other person as may be designated by the 2 

Commission.   3 

 4 

(8) (9) “Funding source" means any person that provides financing, 5 

including but not limited to loans, advances, any other form of credit, 6 

chips, or any other representation or thing of value, to an owner-7 

registrant or owner-licensee, other than individual registrants under 8 

Subsection (d) of Section 12201 or licensees.  “Funding source” does 9 

not include any federally or state chartered lending institution or any 10 

of the following entities that in the aggregate owns at least one 11 

hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) of securities of issuers that are 12 

not affiliated with the entity: 13 

 14 

(A)  Any federally-regulated or state-regulated bank or savings 15 

association or other federally- or state-regulated lending 16 

institution. 17 

 18 

(B)  Any company that is organized as an insurance company, the 19 

primary and predominant business activity of which is the 20 

writing of insurance or the reinsuring of risks underwritten by 21 

insurance companies, and that is subject to supervision by the 22 

Insurance Commissioner of California, or a similar official or 23 

agency of another state. 24 

 25 

(C)  Any investment company registered under the federal 26 
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Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. sec. 80a-1 et 1 

seq.).  2 

 3 

(D)  Any retirement plan established and maintained by the United 4 

States, an agency or instrumentality thereof, or by a state, its 5 

political subdivisions, or any agency or instrumentality of a 6 

state or its political subdivisions, for the benefit of its 7 

employees. 8 

 9 

(E)  Any employee benefit plan within the meaning of Title I of the 10 

federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (29 11 

U.S.C. sec. 1001 et seq.). 12 

 13 

(F)  Any securities dealer registered pursuant to the federal 14 

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. sec. 78a et seq.).  15 

 16 

(G) Any entity, all of the equity owners of which individually meet 17 

the criteria of this paragraph (8) (9).  18 

 19 

(9) (10) “Gambling Control Act” or “Act” means Chapter 5 (commencing 20 

with Section 19800) of Division 8 of the Business and Professions 21 

Code. 22 

 23 

(11) (A)“License” means a license issued by the Commission 24 

pursuant to article 3 of this chapter.   25 

(A) There are four license categories entitling the holder to 26 
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provide third-party proposition player services:  1 

(i) primary owner, if issued a playing badge, 2 

(ii) owner, if issued a playing badge, 3 

(iii)  supervisor, and  4 

(iv) player.   5 

(B) All other employees of the primary owner who are 6 

present in the gambling establishment during the 7 

provision of proposition player services under the 8 

primary owner’s proposition player contract shall be 9 

licensed as “other employee” and shall be required to 10 

submit an application and be approved or denied based 11 

upon the same criteria that apply to a player.   12 

 13 

 (12)  “Licensee” means a person having a valid license. 14 

 15 

(13) "Organization chart" means a chart that identifies the names 16 

and titles of all owners, as defined in section 12200(b)(15), 17 

supervisors, and any persons having significant influence over 18 

the operation of the entity or provision of proposition player 19 

services; the percentage of ownership, if any, held by each 20 

identified individual or entity; and the reporting relationship for 21 

each identified individual or entity.   22 

 23 

(13)(14) “Other employee” does not include officers of a primary owner 24 

that is a corporation.  25 

(10)  (14)(15)  “Owner” includes all of the following: 26 
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(A) A sole proprietor, corporation, partnership, or other 1 

business entity that provides or proposes to provide third 2 

party proposition player services as an independent 3 

contractor in a gambling establishment,   4 

(B) Any individual specified in Business and Professions 5 

Code section 19852, subdivisions (a) through (h), and  6 

(C) Any funding source. 7 

(11) (15) (16) “Playing Book" means a record documenting each 8 

session of play by a third-party proposition player.  9 

(12) (16)(17) “Primary Owner” means the owner specified in 10 

subparagraph (A) of paragraph (10) (14) (15) of this subsection. 11 

(13) (17))(18) “Proposition player” or “player” means an individual 12 

other than an owner or a supervisor who provides third-party 13 

proposition player services in a controlled game.   14 

(14) (18)(19) “Proposition player contract” or “contract” means a 15 

written contract, the terms of which have been reviewed and approved 16 

by the Division, between the holder of a state gambling license and a 17 

primary owner for the provision of third-party proposition player 18 

services in the gambling establishment. 19 

(19)(20) “Rebate” means a partial return by an authorized proposition 20 

player of chips or money to a patron who has lost the chips or money 21 

to the authorized player through play in a controlled game at a 22 

gambling establishment. 23 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 12   

 

(15) (20)(21) "Registrant” means a person having a valid registration.  1 

 (16) (21)(22) “Registration” means a registration issued by the 2 

Commission pursuant to this chapter.  There are four registration 3 

categories entitling the holder to provide third-party proposition 4 

player services: primary owner, owner, supervisor, and player.  All 5 

other employees of the primary owner who are present in the 6 

gambling establishment during the provision of proposition player 7 

services under the primary owner’s proposition player contract shall 8 

be registered as “other employee.”  The holder of an owner’s 9 

registration A primary owner issued a playing badge and an owner 10 

issued a playing badge may also perform the functions of a supervisor 11 

or player, and the holder of a supervisor’s registration may also 12 

perform the functions of a player.  No registrant, other than an owner 13 

issued a playing badge, supervisor, or player, may possess, direct, or 14 

otherwise control currency, chips, or other wagering instruments used 15 

for play in the performance of a proposition player contract.  An 16 

individual registered as an “other employee” may not function as a 17 

player unless and until that individual applies for and obtains 18 

registration as a player. 19 

(17) (22)(23) “Session of play” as used in Section 12200.13 12200.16 20 

(“Playing Books”) means a continuous workshift of third-party 21 

proposition player services provided by an individual proposition 22 

player. 23 

(18) (23)(24) “Supervisor” means an individual who, in addition to any 24 

supervisorial responsibilities, has authority, on behalf of the primary 25 
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owner, to direct or provide or direct the distribution of currency, 1 

chips, or other wagering instruments to players engaged in the 2 

provision of third-party proposition player services in a gambling 3 

establishment. 4 

(24)(25) “Supplemental application package” means a license application 5 

form as prescribed by the Commission and all of the documentation 6 

and deposits required to be submitted to the Division in response to a 7 

summons issued pursuant to Section 12200.25. 8 

 “Supplemental information package” means all of the documentation 9 

and deposits required by each of the following forms (which are 10 

hereby incorporated by reference) to be submitted to the Commission 11 

in response to a summons issued by the Division pursuant to Section 12 

12200.25: 13 

 14 

 15 

(A) Owners, as defined in Section 12200(b)(15), that are a natural 16 

person shall complete the form Level III Supplemental 17 

Information-Individual (DGC-APP 034A, New 08/04) for a 18 

level III investigation. 19 

  20 

(B) Owners, as defined in Section 12200(b)(15), that are not a 21 

natural person shall complete the form Level III Supplemental 22 

Information-Business (DGC-APP. 034B, New 08/04) for a 23 

level III investigation. 24 

 25 
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(C) Supervisors, as defined in Section 12200(b)(24), shall complete 1 

the form Level II Supplemental Information (DGC-APP. 033, 2 

New 08/04) for a level II investigation. 3 

 4 

(D) Other employees and players, as defined in Section 5 

12200(b)(11)(B) and 12200(b)(18), shall complete the form 6 

Level I Supplemental Information (DGC-APP. 032, New 7 

08/04) for a level I investigation. 8 

(19) (25)(26) "Third-party proposition player services” or “proposition 9 

player services" means services provided in and to the house under 10 

any written, oral, or implied agreement with the house, which services 11 

include play as a participant in any controlled game that has a rotating 12 

player-dealer position as permitted by Penal Code section 330.11.  13 

“Proposition player services” also includes the services of any 14 

supervisors, as specified in paragraph (18) (22) (24) of this subsection. 15 

 (26)(27) “TPP” means “third party proposition.”  This abbreviation is 16 

used in Section 12200.3 and in prescribing titles used on registrant 17 

and licensee badges, for example, “TPP Player Registrant.” 18 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 19 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19984, Business and Professions Code  20 

 21 

Section 12200.1. Certificate 22 
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(a) The Commission shall issue a registration or license certificate, as 1 

applicable, to each primary owner.   2 

(b) The Commission shall endorse upon each certificate the names of all other 3 

owners affiliated with the primary owner. 4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

 7 

Section 12200.3. Badge—Initial, Transfer, or Additional 8 

(a) All individuals licensed or registered as primary owners, owners, 9 

supervisors, players, or other employees of the primary owner shall wear in 10 

a prominently visible location a numbered badge issued by the Commission 11 

when present in a gambling establishment during the provision of 12 

proposition player services under the proposition player contract that covers 13 

the licensee or registrant.   If an individual ceases to be employed by or 14 

affiliated with a particular primary owner, that individual shall surrender his 15 

or her badge to the primary owner.   The primary owner shall notify the 16 

Commission and the Division in writing within 10 days of the change in 17 

status using the prescribed CGCC Form Change in Status Form for a Third 18 

Party Proposition Player Services Registration (CGCC-441, New 6/04), 19 

which is hereby incorporated by reference.  Any primary owner receiving a 20 

badge from an individual formerly employed by or affiliated with the 21 

primary owner shall return the badge to the Commission within 10 days of 22 

receiving the badge from the holder. 23 
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(b) The words “TPP PLAYER REGISTRANT,”  “NON-PLAYER TPP 1 

REGISTRANT,” “TPP PLAYER LICENSEE,” OR NON-PLAYER TPP 2 

PLAYER LICENSEE” in capital letters shall be prominently displayed on 3 

the front of the badge.  The first name of the registrant or licensee shall 4 

appear on the front of the badge.  The full name of the registrant or licensee 5 

shall be printed on the reverse side of the badge, together with the 6 

registrant’s or licensee’s category of registration or licensing as an owner, 7 

supervisor, player, or other employee. 8 

(c) On the badge, there shall be displayed the picture of the registrant or 9 

licensee submitted with the application, the badge number, and expiration 10 

date.  On the badge there shall be displayed the name of the primary owner 11 

employing the registrant or licensee, which shall be the fictitious business 12 

name, if properly any, established pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing with 13 

Section 17900) of Part 3 of Division 7 of the Business and Professions Code.   14 

(d) Upon renewal of each registration and upon issuance of each registration or 15 

license, Authorized authorized players shall be issued a badge of one color; 16 

individuals not authorized to play shall be issued a badge of a distinctly 17 

different color. 18 

(e) An individual registered as a player with a particular primary owner shall 19 

apply for and obtain a new badge pursuant to section 12200.5 before 20 

beginning to work for an additional or a different primary owner. 21 

(f)  Registrations, licenses, and badges are specific to the primary owner.  TPPP 22 

Third party proposition player services cannot be provided without first 23 

applying for and obtaining a registration, license, or badge.  24 
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Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 1 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 2 

 3 

Section 12200.5 Replacement of Badge 4 

 5 

(a) Upon application, the Executive Director shall issue a replacement badge if 6 

all of the following conditions are met: 7 

(1) The applicant has a current valid registration or license. 8 

(2) The application is complete and has been submitted on the form 9 

Request for Replacement Third Party Proposition Player Services 10 

Badge (CGCC-438, New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by 11 

reference. 12 

(3) The applicant has supplied all of the following to the 13 

Commission: 14 

(A) A two by two inch color passport-style photograph taken 15 

no more than one year before submission to the 16 

Commission of the badge replacement or transfer request.  17 

(B) A nonrefundable $25.00 fee payable to the Commission. 18 

(C) The category of the position and information concerning the 19 

primary owner for which the replacement badge is requested: 20 

the name of the primary owner, mailing address, voice 21 

telephone number, facsimile number (if any), and email address 22 

(if any). 23 
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(D) A statement under penalty of perjury that a replacement badge 1 

is needed due to loss or destruction of the originally issued 2 

badge. 3 

(b) A replacement badge issued pursuant to this section shall be valid during the 4 

unexpired term of the previously issued registration or license. 5 

(c) Upon issuance of the replacement badge, the previously 6 

issued badge for that third-party proposition services provider shall become 7 

void and shall not be used.  8 

(d) Replacement badges shall be issued by the Commission within seven days of 9 

receipt of a complete application. 10 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 11 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 12 

 13 

Section 12200.6 Transfer of Player Registration or License; 14 

Issuance of Additional Badge 15 

 16 

(a) Upon application, the Executive Director shall issue a player transfer badge 17 

or an additional player badge if all of the following conditions are met: 18 

(1) The applicant has a currently valid registration or license. 19 

(2) The application is complete and has been submitted on the form 20 

Request for Transfer of Third Party Proposition Player Services 21 

Registration/License or Additional Third Party Proposition Player 22 

Services (CGCC-439, New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by 23 

reference. 24 

(3) The applicant has supplied all of the following to the 25 
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Commission: 1 

(A) A two by two inch color passport-style photograph taken 2 

no more than one year before submission to the 3 

Commission of the request.  4 

(B) A nonrefundable $125.00 fee payable to the Commission. 5 

(C) The names of the current and future primary owner (or 6 

additional owner), mailing address, voice telephone number, 7 

facsimile number (if any), and email address (if any). 8 

 9 

 (b) A transfer badge issued pursuant to this section shall be valid during the 10 

unexpired term of the previously issued registration or license. 11 

(c) Upon issuance of the transfer badge, the previously issued badge 12 

 for that third-party proposition services provider shall become void and 13 

shall not be used.  14 

(d) Transfer and additional badges shall be issued by the Commission within 15 

seven days of receipt of a complete application. 16 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 17 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 18 

 19 

 20 

Section 12200.7  Proposition Player Contract Criteria  21 

 (a) All proposition player contracts shall be subject to, and superseded by, any 22 

changes in the requirements of regulations adopted under Business and 23 
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Professions Code section 19984 that conflict with or supplement provisions 1 

of the proposition player contract. 2 

(b) Each proposition player contract shall specifically require all of the 3 

following to be separately set forth at the beginning of the contract in the 4 

following order: 5 

(1) The names of the parties to the contract.  6 

(2) The effective dates of the contract. 7 

(3) The specific name of the Division-approved gaming activities for 8 

which proposition player services will be provided. 9 

(4) The maximum and minimum number of gaming tables available to the 10 

proposition player provider service. 11 

(5) That no more than one owner, supervisor, or player from each 12 

provider of proposition player service shall simultaneously play at a 13 

table. 14 

(6) The hours of operation that proposition player services will be 15 

provided.   16 

(7) A detailed description of the location, applicable security measures, 17 

and purpose of any currency, chips, or other wagering instruments that 18 

will be stored, maintained, or kept within the gambling establishment 19 

by or on behalf of the primary owner.    20 
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(8) That proposition player services shall be provided in the gambling 1 

establishment only in compliance with laws and regulations pertaining 2 

to controlled gambling. 3 

(9) That proposition player services may be provided only by authorized 4 

players with current registration or licensing under this chapter. 5 

(10) That the primary owner shall provide the gambling establishment with 6 

a copy of its registration or license certificate, and that the gambling 7 

establishment shall maintain the certificate on file, together with a 8 

copy of the proposition player contract applying to that establishment. 9 

(11) That a registrant or licensee may not provide proposition player 10 

services in a gambling establishment for which the registrant holds a 11 

state gambling license, key employee license, or work permit. 12 

(12) That collection fees charged by the house for participation in any 13 

controlled game shall be the same as those charged to other 14 

participants during the play of the game.    15 

(13) The form to be used for the playing book record and the initial 16 

number that will be used for the sequentially numbered forms. 17 

(14) Any agreement between the primary owner and the house for owners 18 

or supervisors to inspect or receive a copy of surveillance recordings 19 

of tables at which proposition player services are provided under the 20 

contract during the times the services are provided, as necessary for 21 

business purposes.   22 
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(15) A full disclosure of any financial arrangements entered into during the 1 

term of the contract for any purpose between the house and any 2 

registrant or licensee covered by the proposition player contract.  If 3 

there is no financial consideration that passes under the contract, a 4 

statement to that effect shall be included. 5 

 (16) That any legal dispute between the primary owner and the house, 6 

including any exclusion of a registered or licensed owner, player, or 7 

supervisor covered by the contract from with the house shall be 8 

reported within 10 days by the primary owner and the house to both 9 

the Commission and the Division. 10 

(17) That the primary owner and the house shall report within 10 days to 11 

both the Commission and the Division the identity of any registrant 12 

whose activities are covered by the proposition player contract and 13 

who is arrested in the gambling establishment by a peace officer, who 14 

is removed from the gambling establishment by a peace officer or the 15 

house, or who is involved in a patron dispute regarding his or her 16 

activities in the gambling establishment that is the subject of a report 17 

to a peace officer and that results in removal of one or more 18 

individuals. 19 

(18) That any cheating reported to the house by a registrant or licensee 20 

shall be reported within 5 days of the incident by the primary owner 21 

and the house to the Commission and Division. 22 

(19) That the criteria for granting any rebates by proposition players to 23 

patrons be spelled out in the contract; and that neither the house nor 24 
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any employee of the house shall have any role in rebates.  If there are 1 

no criteria for granting rebates, a statement to that effect shall be 2 

included. 3 

(20) That any tipping arrangements shall be specified in the contract; that 4 

percentage tips shall not be given; and that tips shall not be given to 5 

employees of the house having either decision-making authority over 6 

the outcome of the game or supervisory responsibilities.  If there are 7 

no tipping arrangements, statement to that effect shall be included. 8 

(21) That the primary owner may reimburse the house in specified amounts 9 

for equipment such as surveillance cameras and monitors, or cards, 10 

shuffling machines, and dice.  Neither the primary owner nor its 11 

employees shall purchase, lease, or control such equipment.  If there is 12 

no arrangement to reimburse the house for equipment, a statement to 13 

that effect shall be included. 14 

(c) (1) Except as expressly authorized by this subsection (c), a proposition 15 

player contract shall not include any provision authorizing payment to or 16 

receipt by the house, or a designee thereof, of any share of the profits or 17 

revenues of a registrant or a licensee.  Any payments made by a registrant or 18 

licensee to the house for a purpose determined by agreement with the house 19 

shall be specifically authorized by the proposition player contract.  All 20 

payments shall be specified in the contract.  The contract shall identify each 21 

specific service or facility provided under the contract and shall specify the 22 

total charge for each of the following category categories, : such as services, 23 

facilities, and advertising.  In addition, the contract shall include a detailed 24 
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list, excluding specific costs, of the items provided or received in each of 1 

these categories. 2 

(2) In no event may a proposition player contract provide for any 3 

payment based on a percentage or fraction of the registrant’s or 4 

licensee’s gross profits or wagers made or the number of players.  All 5 

payments shall be fixed and shall only be made for services and 6 

facilities requested by, and provided to, the registrant or licensee, and 7 

for a reasonable share of the cost of advertising with respect to 8 

gaming at the gambling establishment in which the registered owner 9 

participates. 10 

(3) No contract provision shall authorize any payments for services or 11 

facilities that are substantially disproportionate to the value of the 12 

services or facilities provided.  No contract shall include any charge, 13 

direct or indirect, for the value of an exclusive right to conduct 14 

proposition play within all or a portion of the gambling establishment.  15 

No payment other than the collection fee for play, shall be required 16 

for play at any table, including, without limitation, reservation of a 17 

seat. 18 

 (d) The proposition player contract shall not contain any provision that limits 19 

contact with officials or employees of the Commission or Division.  The 20 

proposition player contract shall prohibit an owner or the house from 21 

retaliating against any registrant or licensee on account of contact with an 22 

official or employee of the Commission or Division or any other public 23 

official or agency. 24 
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(e) A proposition player contract shall be consistent with the provisions of 1 

Business and Professions Code section 19984, subdivision (a), prohibiting a 2 

gambling establishment or the house from having any interest, whether 3 

direct or indirect, in funds wagered, lost, or won.  No proposition player 4 

contract shall be approved that would permit the house to bank any game in 5 

the gambling establishment, for example, no contract provision shall require 6 

a registrant or licensee to pay for prizes awarded as a result of promotions. 7 

(f) Each proposition player contract approved by the Division shall contain a 8 

provision authorizing the Commission, after receiving the findings and 9 

recommendation of the Division, to terminate the contract for any material 10 

violation of any term required by this section. 11 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code. 12 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 13 

 14 

Section 12200.9 Review and Approval of Proposition Player 15 

Contracts 16 

(a) (1) On and after April 30, 2004, proposition player services shall not be 17 

provided except pursuant to a written proposition player contract 18 

approved in advance by the Division.  Provision of proposition player 19 

services by any person subject to registration or licensing under this 20 

chapter, or engagement of proposition player services by the holder of 21 

a state gambling license, without a contract as required by this section 22 

is a violation of this section.  The Division shall approve a proposition 23 
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player contract only if all the following requirements have been 1 

satisfied: 2 

  (A) The contract is consistent with this regulation and the Act. 3 

(B) The contract does not provide for controlled gambling that will 4 

be conducted in a manner that is inimical to the public health, 5 

safety, or welfare.  6 

(C) The contract will not create or enhance the dangers of 7 

unsuitable, unfair, or illegal practices, methods, or activities in 8 

the conduct of controlled gambling or in the carrying on of the 9 

business and related financial arrangements. 10 

(D) The contract will not undermine public trust that the controlled 11 

gambling operations covered by the contract will be conducted 12 

honestly, by reason of the existence or perception of any 13 

collusive arrangement between any party to the contract and the 14 

holder of a state gambling license, or otherwise.     15 

(2) Prior to December 7, 2003, each primary owner providing proposition 16 

player services at a gambling establishment on the date that these 17 

regulations originally became effective (November 6, 2003) shall 18 

submit an Application for Contract Approval Provider of Proposition 19 

Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 09/03), which is hereby 20 

incorporated by reference.  21 

(3) A complete application for contract approval shall include all of the 22 

following:  23 
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(A)  A completed Application for Contract Approval to Provider 1 

Provide of Proposition Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 2 

09/03 08/04), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 3 

 4 

(B) A completed Appointment of Designated Agent for Owners and 5 

Proposition Players (DGC-APP.031, rev. 09/03 08/04), which is 6 

hereby incorporated by reference. 7 

 8 

(C) An executed copy of the contract that specifically addresses all 9 

of the requirements of Section 12200.7. 10 

 11 

(D)  A playing book form that specifically addresses all of the 12 

requirements of section 12200.13. 13 

 14 

  (E) A five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable application fee. 15 

 16 

(F) A $1200 deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the 17 

Director of the Division, will be sufficient to pay the anticipated 18 

processing costs as required by Title 11, California Code of 19 

Regulations, section 2037(a)(2)(A).  The Division may require 20 

an additional sum to be deposited to pay the final costs of the 21 

review and approval or disapproval of the contract.  Any money 22 

received as a deposit in excess of the costs incurred in the 23 

review and approval or disapproval of the contract will be 24 

refunded and an itemized accounting will be provided to the 25 

primary owner, or primary owner’s designee. 26 
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 (4) The Division shall notify the applicant, in writing, within ten working 1 

days of receiving the application that the application or resubmitted 2 

application is complete or incomplete.  If an application is incomplete, 3 

the Division shall request, in writing, any information, fees, or 4 

documentation needed to complete the application.  Unless extended 5 

by the Division for further investigation up to 90 days or with the 6 

consent of the applicant, review and approval or disapproval of a 7 

proposition player contract shall be completed within 90 days of 8 

receiving a completed application and notice thereof shall be sent via 9 

United States mail to the applicant or the applicant’s designee within 10 

10 ten days of the Division’s decision.  Notice of disapproval of the 11 

contract or amendments shall specify the cause. 12 

 13 

(b) An executed copy of the currently effective contract, and all amendment(s) 14 

thereto, and a copy of all Division notices that approved the contract and any 15 

amendment shall be maintained at the gambling establishment and shall be 16 

provided for review or copying upon request by any representative of the 17 

Commission or Division. 18 

(c) The term of any proposition player contract shall not exceed one year and 19 

shall not be extended or renewed without the prior approval of the Division.   20 

No amendment changing any of the contract terms referred to in Section 21 

12200.7, other than paragraphs (3), (4), and (6) of subsection (b) thereof, 22 

may become effective during the term of a proposition player contract 23 

without the prior written approval of the Division.  If any amendment is 24 

made to a proposition player contract term specified in paragraphs (3), (4), 25 
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or (6) of subsection (b) of Section 12200.7, both parties to the contract shall 1 

notify the Commission and Division in writing of the amendment within 10 2 

days of the execution thereof by the parties to the contract. 3 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 4 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Section 12200.10A Expedited Review and Approval of Proposition 6 

Player Contracts 7 

(b) (1)(a) In lieu of the procedure specified in subsection (a) Section 12200.9, 8 

the Division shall provide an expedited review process of an 9 

application for contract approval if all of the following conditions 10 

exist: 11 

 12 

(A) (1) Proposition player services were provided in the 13 

gambling establishment at any time during the 30 days 14 

preceding the application pursuant to a contract that was 15 

previously approved by the Division and that has been 16 

terminated. 17 

 18 

(B) (2) The proposed contract is between the house and a 19 

different primary owner than the previous contract under which 20 

proposition player services were provided in the gambling 21 

establishment. 22 

 23 
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(C)(3) The terms of the proposed contract are substantially identical to 1 

the contract previously approved by the Division under which 2 

proposition player services were provided in the gambling 3 

establishment at any time during the 30 days preceding the 4 

application.   5 

 6 

(2) (b) If an application for contract approval is submitted as an expedited 7 

contract request and the Division determines that it does not meet the 8 

criteria, the primary owner or designee and the house shall be notified 9 

within one business day of the Division’s decision.  Any contract that 10 

is not processed through the expedited review and approval process 11 

shall be treated as a new contract request and reviewed and approved 12 

or disapproved as otherwise provided by subsection (a) Section 13 

12200.9(a). 14 

 15 

(3)(c) The Division shall complete the expedited review and approval of a 16 

contract within three business days of receiving all of the following: 17 

 18 

(A)(1)  A completed Application for Contract Approval to 19 

Provider Provide of Proposition Player Services (DGC-20 

APP.030, rev. 05/04 08/04, which is hereby incorporated by 21 

reference). 22 

 23 

(B)(2) A completed Appointment of Designated Agent for Owners and 24 

Proposition Players (DGC-APP.031, rev. 05/0408/04), which is 25 

hereby incorporated by reference. 26 
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 1 

(C)(3) An executed copy of the contract that specifically addresses all 2 

the requirements of Section 12200.7. 3 

(D)(4)A playing book form that specifically addresses all the 4 

requirements of Section 12200.9 12200.13. 5 

(E)(5) A five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable application fee. 6 

(F)(6) An expedited processing fee of $550.  7 

(c) (1) As soon as is practicable after determining that any application for 8 

approval of a proposition player contract or amendment is complete 9 

and that the contract or amendment appears to qualify for approval, 10 

but in no event less than 75 days from receipt of the application, the 11 

Division shall submit the contract or amendment to the Commission 12 

for review and comment.  The Commission shall provide the Division 13 

with comments, if any, within 15 days of receipt of the contract or 14 

amendment. 15 

(2) A copy of the Division’s notice of approval or disapproval of a 16 

proposition player contract or amendment thereto shall be sent to the 17 

Commission.   18 

(d)(e) An executed copy of the currently effective contract, and all amendment(s) 19 

thereto, and a copy of all Division notices that approved the contract and any 20 

amendment shall be maintained at the gambling establishment and shall be 21 

provided for review or copying upon request by any representative of the 22 

Commission or Division. 23 
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(e) (f) The term of any proposition player contract shall not exceed one year and 1 

shall not be extended or renewed without the prior approval of the Division.   2 

No amendment changing any of the contract terms referred to in Section 3 

12200.7, other than paragraphs (3), (4), and (6) of subsection (b) thereof, 4 

may become effective during the term of a proposition player contract 5 

without the prior written approval of the Division.  If any amendment is 6 

made to a proposition player contract term specified in paragraphs (3), (4), 7 

or (6) of subsection (b) of Section 12200.7, both parties to the contract shall 8 

notify the Commission and Division in writing of the amendment within 10 9 

days of the execution thereof by the parties to the contract. 10 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 11 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 12 

 13 

Section 12200.10B Review and Approval of Amendments to   14 

    Proposition Player Contracts 15 

(f) Requests to review and approve an amendment to a proposition player 16 

contract shall be submitted with an application for approval along with an 17 

executed copy of the contract, a five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable 18 

application fee, and a four hundred and fifty dollar ($450) deposit in such 19 

amount as, in the judgment of the Director of the Division, will be sufficient 20 

to pay the anticipated processing costs as required by Title 11, California 21 

Code of Regulations section 2037(a)(2)(B).  The Division may require an 22 

additional sum to be deposited to pay the final costs of the review and 23 
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approval or disapproval of the amendment.  Any money received as a 1 

deposit in excess of the costs incurred in the review and approval or 2 

disapproval of the amendment shall be refunded and an itemized accounting 3 

shall be provided to the primary owner or the primary owner’s designee.  4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

 7 

Section 12200.10C Submission of Contract or Amendment to 8 

Commission 9 

(a)  As soon as is practicable after determining that any application for 10 

approval of a proposition player contract or amendment is complete 11 

and that the contract or amendment appears to qualify for approval, 12 

but in no event less than 75 days from receipt of the application 13 

package, the Division shall submit the contract or amendment to the 14 

Commission for review and comment.  The Commission shall provide 15 

the Division with comments, if any, within 15 days of receipt of the 16 

contract or amendment This paragraph does not apply to expedited 17 

approval under Section 12200.10A. 18 

(b) A copy of the Division’s notice of approval or disapproval of a 19 

proposition player contract or amendment thereto shall be sent to the 20 

Commission. 21 

 22 
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Section 12200.10D Superseding of Contract Provisions 1 

 (g) All proposition player contracts shall be subject to, and superseded by, any         2 

changes in the requirements of regulations adopted under Business and 3 

Professions Code section 19984 that conflict with or supplement provisions 4 

of the proposition player contract. 5 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 7 

Section 12200.11  Extension of Proposition Player Contract 8 

Extensions 9 

(a) An application for approval of a proposal contract to extend or renew a 10 

continue proposition player services contract shall include all of the 11 

following: 12 

(1) A completed Application for Contract Approval to Provider of 13 

Proposition Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 05/04 08/04), which 14 

is hereby incorporated by reference. 15 

(2) A $500 application fee. 16 

(3) An executed copy of the contract. 17 

(4) A deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the Director of the 18 

Division, will be sufficient to pay the anticipated processing costs.  19 

The Division may require an additional sum to be deposited to pay the 20 

final costs of the review and approval or disapproval of the contract.  21 
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Any money received as a deposit in excess of the costs incurred in the 1 

review and approval or disapproval of the contract will be refunded 2 

and an itemized accounting will be provided to the primary owner, or 3 

primary owner’s designee. 4 

(b) The application shall be submitted to the Division no later than 90 days prior 5 

to the date that the current contract is scheduled to expire. 6 

(c) As soon as is practicable after determining that any application for approval 7 

of a proposition player contract extension is complete and that the contract 8 

extension appears to qualify for approval, but in no event less than 75 days 9 

from receipt of the application, the Division shall submit the contract 10 

extension to the Commission for review and comment.  The Commission 11 

shall provide the Division with comments, if any, within 15 days of receipt 12 

of the contract extension. 13 

(d) A deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the Director of the Division, 14 

will be sufficient to pay the anticipated processing costs.  The Division may 15 

require an additional sum to be deposited to pay the final costs of the review 16 

and approval or disapproval of the contract.  Any money received as a 17 

deposit in excess of the costs incurred in the review and approval or 18 

disapproval of the contract will be refunded and an itemized accounting will 19 

be provided to the primary owner, or primary owner’s designee. 20 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 21 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 22 

 23 
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Section 12200.13 Playing Books 1 

(a) The primary owner shall be responsible for assuring that its players maintain 2 

accurate, complete, and up-to-date playing books for all sessions of play 3 

worked in conformity with regulations of the Commission.  The information 4 

in the playing-book record shall be transferred to the primary owner, or a 5 

supervisor designated by the primary owner at the end of each session of 6 

play.  The primary owner shall maintain this information in English at a 7 

single location in the State of California, and shall maintain the original 8 

playing book records in the State of California, for at least five years.  The 9 

location or locations where the records of this information and the original 10 

playing book records are maintained, and any change therein, shall be 11 

disclosed to the Commission and Division by written notice mailed or 12 

delivered within five business days after establishing or changing such a 13 

location. 14 

(b) Playing books shall be prepared and maintained as follows: 15 

 (1) Playing book forms shall be reviewed and approved or disapproved 16 

during the review of the contract by the Division. 17 

(2) Each form in the playing book shall be recorded in ink and include, 18 

but not be limited to, the following information: 19 

(A) Sequential numbers.  Any unused form shall be voided and 20 

maintained in the playing book. 21 

(B) Specify the name The name of the gambling establishment 22 

where play occurred. 23 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 37   

 

(C) The date and approximate time when play occurred.  1 

(D) Beginning and ending balances.  2 

(E) Individual identification of All all fills and credits affecting the 3 

balance shall be individually identified. 4 

(F) The printed full name and badge number of the proposition 5 

player, which includes owners, supervisors, and/or players. 6 

(G) The table number assigned by the gambling establishment. 7 

(H) The specific name of the Division-approved gaming activity. 8 

(I) The name of the primary owner. 9 

(3) The form for each session of play shall be time-stamped, dated, and 10 

signed under penalty of perjury by the person who prepared it and 11 

shall include a declaration in the following form: “I declare under 12 

penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the 13 

foregoing is true and correct.” 14 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 15 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 16 

 17 

Section 12200.14.  Organization Chart and Employee Report 18 

(a) No later than September 1, 2004, each registered primary owner shall submit 19 

a current organization chart and a listing of all employees by name and title 20 

to the Division and the Commission.  The listing of employees shall be 21 
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submitted on the form Third Party Proposition Player Services Employee 1 

Report (CGCC-440, New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 2 

(b) Upon renewal of the registration or license and every six months thereafter, 3 

each registered or licensed primary owner shall submit an updated 4 

organization chart and a listing of all employees by name and title to the 5 

Division and the Commission. 6 

(c) The primary owner shall notify the Division and the Commission in writing 7 

within ten days of any change to the organization chart. 8 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 9 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 10 

Section 12200.15  Transfers and Sales 11 

(a) No individual who is an owner shall in any manner transfer any interest in 12 

the proposition player services operation to any person, firm, or corporation 13 

or business entity not then an owner of an interest therein, and such a 14 

transfer shall not become effective for any purpose, until the proposed 15 

transferee or transferees have made application for and obtained registration 16 

or licensing as an owner from the Commission.   Applications for a transfer 17 

of the interest shall be made by the transferee applying for registration or 18 

licensing under this regulation.  Evidence of the transferor's agreement to 19 

transfer the interest shall accompany the application for registration or 20 

licensing.  21 

(b) The proposed articles of incorporation, if applicable, and the sales and 22 

transfer agreement shall be submitted to the Commission for approval prior 23 

to submission of application. 24 
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(c) The effective date of the sale shall be at least 90 days after receipt of the 1 

application, or such other shorter time period as shall be set by the Executive 2 

Director with the agreement of the applicant. 3 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 4 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Section 12200.16. Inspections and Investigations 6 

(a) When requested by a representative of the Commission or Division, a 7 

registrant or licensee shall immediately permit the Commission or Division 8 

representative, in accordance with the request, to inspect, copy, or audit all 9 

requested documents, papers, books, and other records of the registrant or 10 

licensee related to the provision of proposition player services.  If the 11 

records are maintained in electronic form and the registrant or licensee is 12 

requested to do so, the registrant or licensee shall provide a printed copy in 13 

English pursuant to this section within 24 hours of the request.   14 

(b) If requested in writing by the Executive Director, the Division shall conduct 15 

an inspection or investigation of a registrant or a licensee.   Within 30 days 16 

of receipt of the request, the Division shall advise the Executive Director in 17 

writing of the status of the inspection or investigation and shall also provide 18 

an estimated date on which the inspection or investigation may reasonably 19 

be expected to be concluded.  Upon completion of the inspection or 20 

investigation, the Division shall provide a final written report to the 21 

Executive Director. 22 
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(c) Nothing in this chapter precludes Commission staff from carrying out their 1 

duties under applicable statutes and regulations. 2 

(d) All records required by this chapter shall be maintained in English, in 3 

California. 4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

 7 

Section 12200.17 Emergency Orders 8 

Registrants and licensees under this chapter shall be subject to emergency orders 9 

under Business and Professions Code section 19931.   10 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 11 

Reference: Sections 19984 and 19931, Business and Professions Code 12 

Section 12200.18 Revocation 13 

The Commission may revoke a license or registration or license, upon any of the 14 

following grounds, after a hearing conducted pursuant to the same procedures 15 

applicable to the revocation of a gambling establishment license: 16 

(a)  The licensee or registrant or licensee committed, attempted to commit, or 17 

conspired to commit any acts prohibited by the Gambling Control Act or this 18 

chapter. 19 
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(b)  Any act or omission by the registrant that would disqualify the registrant 1 

from obtaining registration under this chapter.  Any act or omission by the 2 

licensee that would disqualify the licensee from obtaining licensing under 3 

this chapter. 4 

(c)  The licensee or registrant or licensee engaged in any dishonest, fraudulent, 5 

or unfairly deceptive activities in connection with controlled gambling, 6 

including any violation of laws related to cheating. 7 

(d)   The licensee or registrant or licensee failed or refused to comply with the 8 

requirements of Section 12200.16 (Inspections and Investigations). 9 

(e)  The registrant or licensee failed or refused to comply with the requirements 10 

of Section 12200.14 (Organization Chart and Employee Report). 11 

(f) The licensee or registrant or licensee concealed or refused to disclose any 12 

material fact in any inquiry by the Division or the Commission. 13 

(f) (g) The licensee or registrant or licensee committed, attempted, or conspired to 14 

commit any embezzlement or larceny against a gambling licensee or 15 

proposition player registrant or upon the premises of a gambling 16 

establishment. 17 

(g) (h) The licensee or registrant or licensee has been lawfully excluded from 18 

being present upon the premises of any licensed gambling establishment for 19 

any reason relating to cheating or any violation of the Gambling Control Act 20 

by the registrant. 21 
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(h)(i) The registrant or licensee buys or sells chips outside the cage, except for 1 

exchanging with a patron chips of one denomination for chips of another 2 

denomination. 3 

(i)(j) The registrant or licensee lends money or chips to gambling establishment 4 

patrons, except for exchanging with a patron chips of one denomination for 5 

chips of another denomination. 6 

(j)(k) The registrant or licensee made wagers that were not specifically authorized 7 

by the game rules approved by the Division.”  8 

(k)  (l) The primary owner or any other owner knowingly permitted one or 9 

more of the owner’s supervisors or players to commit any act described in 10 

subsections (a) to (j)(k) , inclusive. 11 

(l) (m)  The primary owner or any other owner knew, or failed to implement 12 

reasonable oversight procedures that would have apprised the owner, that 13 

one or more of the registrants or licensees was in violation of one or more 14 

provisions of this chapter or of the Gambling Control Act and failed or 15 

refused to take action to prevent the recurrence of the violation or violations. 16 

(n) The registrant or licensee provided proposition player services to a gambling 17 

establishment without a Division-approved contract. 18 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19941, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 19 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 20 

 21 

Section 12200.19 Special Authorizations and Limitations 22 
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(a) The holder of a supervisor’s registration or license may also perform the 1 

functions of a player.  2 

(b) Only authorized players may possess, direct, or otherwise control currency, 3 

chips, or other wagering instruments used for play in the performance of a 4 

proposition player contract. 5 

 6 

Section 12200.20 Non-refundable Annual Fee 7 

(a) No later than September 1 of each year, beginning September 1, 2004, each 8 

registered or licensed primary owner shall submit to the Commission the 9 

non-refundable annual fee set forth in subsection (b) (c) of this section, 10 

based on the total number of registrations or licenses affiliated with that the 11 

primary owner on the effective date of this regulation immediately preceding 12 

August 15.  The payment due September 1, 2004 shall be based on the total 13 

number of registrations affiliated with the primary owner on August 15, 14 

2004. 15 

(b) Within 30 days of approval of any request to convert a registration to a 16 

initial license application, the Commission shall notify the licensee of any 17 

additional fees owed for the term of the license granted, allowing pro rata 18 

credit on a monthly basis for any annual fee paid in connection with a 19 

registration that has not expired. 20 

(c) The annual fee shall be computed based on the following chart reflecting the 21 

total number of registrants or licensees affiliated with a particular primary 22 

owner on the date of assessment: 23 

 Category  Number of Registrants  Fee Per Registrant  24 

    or Licensees    or Licensee 25 
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 A   1—5     $2800 1 

 2 

 B   6--35     $3050 3 

 4 

 C   36--175    $3300 5 

 6 

 D   176—400    $3550 7 

 8 

 E   401--900    $3800 9 

 10 

 F   901--1200    $4050 11 

 12 

 G   1200 or more   $4300 13 

 14 

(d) (1) Upon advance written approval by the Executive Director, installment 15 

payments submitted prior to licensure shall be permitted as follows: one-16 

third of the annual fee to be submitted no later than September 1, 2004, one-17 

third no later than December 1, 2004, and the balance no later than March 1, 18 

2005.  19 

(2) Upon advance written approval by the Executive Director, installment 20 

payments submitted after conversion to licensure shall be permitted as 21 

follows: one-third of the annual fee to be submitted prior to issuance 22 

of the license, one-third to be submitted three months thereafter, and 23 

one-third to be submitted six months thereafter. 24 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 45   

 

(e) Refunds shall not be available in the event of a subsequent decrease in the 1 

number of registrants or licensees upon which the annual fee payment was 2 

based. 3 

(f) Following assessment of the annual fee, if the primary owner increases the 4 

number of its registrants or licensees above the number upon which the 5 

annual fee assessment was based, the primary owner shall submit to the 6 

Commission not only the required application fee for the additional 7 

registrants or licensees, but also the additional per player fee set forth in 8 

subsection (b) (c) of this section.  No new badges shall issued until the 9 

additional per player fee has been received by the Commission. 10 

(g) No renewal application shall be accepted by the Commission until any 11 

delinquent annual fees have been paid in full.  12 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 13 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 14 

Section 12200.21 Compliance   15 

(a) Registrants and licensees shall comply with game rules approved by the 16 

Division, including but not limited to, the rules regarding player-dealer 17 

rotation and table wagering.  A proposition player contract may, concerning 18 

any table assigned for play by the contracted registrant or licensee, contain a 19 

provision precluding players of any other registrant or licensee under this 20 

chapter or chapter 2.2 of this title from playing at that table during the 21 

periods of play assigned by the proposition player contract for the contracted 22 

registrant or licensee.  The house is not precluded from assigning a seat at 23 

the table to a registrant or licensee.   24 
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(b) Only an authorized player may possess, direct, or otherwise control 1 

currency, chips, or other wagering instruments used for play in the 2 

performance of a proposition player contract. 3 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 4 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Article 2.  Interim Registration  7 

Section 12200.25  Transition to Licensing 8 

(a) No person may provide proposition player services as an owner, supervisor, 9 

or player or obtain a badge as required by Section 12200.3 without a current 10 

valid license issued by the Commission, except that entities and individuals 11 

registered as owners, supervisors, or players may continue to provide those 12 

proposition player services under a valid registration, including a renewed 13 

registration, until the Commission grants or denies licensing.  14 

 15 

(b) The Division shall summon persons registered as primary owners, owners, 16 

supervisors, players, and other employees for the purpose of applying for 17 

licenses under this chapter.  The Division shall summon registrants in a way 18 

that will provide for the orderly licensing of primary owners, owners, 19 

supervisors, players, and other employees as expeditiously as possible in 20 

light of available program resources.  The registration of any registrant that 21 

fails or refuses to submit a supplemental license application package    22 
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 Request for Conversion of a Third Party Proposition Player Services 1 

Registration to a License (CGCC-437, new 06/04)(see section 12218(c)) 2 

including any fees to the Commission within 30 days of receiving a 3 

summons from the Division shall expire by operation of law on the 4 

following day.  Prior to and during review of a request to convert a 5 

registration to a license application, a registration shall remain valid and may 6 

be renewed by the registrant as necessary, upon application and approval of 7 

renewal of registration as provided in Section 12203.5 12203.  8 

(c) (b) If the registration expires by operation of law, the former registrant shall 9 

submit a new application request to convert a registration to a license and a 10 

new nonrefundable application fee. 11 

(d) (c) The transition from registration to licensing for applications approved prior 12 

to April 30, 2004, shall be completed no later than January 30 July 1, 2007.   13 

(e) (d)  The license application process, since it is the second phase of the 14 

interim registration-licensing program, shall not require payment of an 15 

additional application fee.  A request to convert a registration to a license 16 

shall require only payment of a sum of money that, in the judgment of the 17 

Director of the Division, will be adequate to pay the anticipated 18 

investigation and processing costs, in accordance with Business and 19 

Professions Code sections 19867 and 19984(c). 20 

(f)(e) If an application for licensing as a primary owner, owner, supervisor, or 21 

player is granted a license is issued, a license may be issued to the applicant,  22 

it will to expire as provided in Section 12218.19 12218.13 (Term of 23 

License). 24 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 25 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 26 
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 1 
 2 

Section 12201. Registration  3 

(a)  On and after March 31, 2004, no person may provide proposition player 4 

services or obtain a badge as required by Section 12200.3  without a current 5 

valid registration issued by the Commission.   6 

(b)  Except as provided in subsection (c), registration Registration shall be issued 7 

for a period of one year to owners and supervisors, and for a period of two 8 

years to players and other employees.   9 

(c) For owners, supervisors, and players, requirements for registration under this 10 

regulation Article will be superseded by licensing requirements upon the 11 

effective date of implementing regulations of the Commission to be adopted 12 

in the future following the schedule and procedures prescribed Section 13 

12200.25 and in Article 3 of this Chapter.  Registration under this chapter 14 

Article or its predecessor shall not create any vested right to licensing under 15 

those implementing regulations Article 3 of this Chapter or any successor 16 

provision. 17 

(d) If a primary owner is a corporation, partnership, or other business entity, 18 

each owner, supervisor, and individual having a relationship to that entity 19 

specified in Business and Professions Code section 19852, subdivisions (a) 20 

to (h), inclusive, shall individually apply for and obtain registration as an 21 

owner listed on the business entity’s registration certificate.  No business 22 

entity or sole proprietor shall be registered under this chapter that is also 23 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 49   

 

licensed under the Gambling Control Act to operate a gambling 1 

establishment.1 2 

(e) If the application is for registration as a supervisor or player, the primary 3 

owner that will employ the applicant shall be currently registered under this 4 

chapter. 5 

(f) A registration certificate shall be issued to each primary owner and shall 6 

include an expiration date.  All owners other than the primary owner, all 7 

supervisors, and all persons required to be registered pursuant to subsection 8 

(d) of this section shall not receive a separate registration certificate, but the 9 

registration of every such person shall be endorsed on the registration 10 

certificate that is issued to the primary owner. 11 

(g) Registration is non-transferable.   12 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 13 

Reference: Sections 19984 and 19951(a), Business and Professions Code 14 

Section 12202. Application for Registration 15 

(a)  The application for registration shall designate whether the registration is 16 

requested as a primary owner, other owner, supervisor, player, or other 17 

employee.  The application shall be signed by both the individual applicant 18 

and the designated agent, or, if the applicant is a business entity, by the chief 19 

executive officer or other designated officer of the business entity. 20 

(b)   An application for registration shall include all of the following: 21 

                                                 
1 In the original text, three alternatives were presented for subsection (d).  Alternative (1) is shown here. 
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(1) Payment of a nonrefundable application fee in the amount of five 1 

hundred dollars ($500). 2 

(2)   A completed Application for Third Party Proposition Player Services 3 

Registration (CGCC-035 435, rev. 02/04 06/04), which is hereby 4 

incorporated by reference. 5 

(3) A properly completed Request for Live Scan Service (California 6 

Department of Justice Form BCII 8016, rev. 4/01) for an applicant 7 

that is an individual, confirming that the applicant’s fingerprints have 8 

been submitted to the Bureau for an automated background check and 9 

response.  10 

(4) Two (2) two-by-two inch color passport-style photographs of an 11 

applicant that is an individual taken no more than one year before 12 

submission of the application to the Commission. 13 

(c)  An applicant that is an individual shall complete and submit such 14 

supplemental information as may be required by the Commission form Third 15 

Party Proposition Player Services Registration Supplemental Information 16 

(CGCC-036, rev. 02/04) (CGCC-436. Rev. 06/04), which is hereby 17 

incorporated by reference, or by the Division as necessary for completion of 18 

its review as provided in this chapter.   19 

(d) An applicant for registration or for any approval required by this chapter 20 

shall make full and true disclosure of all information to the Commission and 21 

Division as required for the application and as requested by the Commission 22 

or Division to carry out the policies of this state relating to controlled 23 

gambling.   24 
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Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 1 

Reference: Sections 19984 and 19951(a), Business and Professions Code 2 

Section 12203. Processing of Applications for Initial and Renewal 3 

Registration 4 

(a) The Executive Director shall notify the applicant in writing within 20 10 5 

days of receiving the application, that the application or resubmitted 6 

application is complete and accepted for filing, or that the application or 7 

resubmitted application is deficient.  If an application for registration is 8 

incomplete, the Executive Director shall request in writing any information 9 

needed in order to complete the application.  The applicant shall be 10 

permitted at least 60 but no more than 90 days in which to furnish the 11 

information.  If the applicant fails to respond to the request, the application 12 

shall be deemed abandoned and no further action will be taken on it. 13 

(b) Upon determination that an application for registration is complete, the 14 

application shall be processed within 60 30 days and the Executive Director 15 

shall either issue the registration and badge applied for or shall notify the 16 

applicant of denial and the grounds therefor under Section 12204.  However, 17 

this time may be extended by the Executive Director for no more than 30 18 

additional days if necessary to obtain information required to determine 19 

eligibility.  The Executive Director shall promptly notify the applicant in 20 

writing of any such delay, including the length of the extension. 21 
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(c)  If the applicant submits a request for withdrawal of his or her application to 1 

the Commission, the application shall be deemed abandoned and no further 2 

action will be taken on it.   3 

(d) The Commission shall provide written notice of abandonment of an 4 

application to the applicant and the Division.  If the application is for 5 

registration as a supervisor, player, or other employee, the Commission shall 6 

also provide written notice of abandonment of the application to the primary 7 

owner.  8 

(e) Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 9 

to the applicant any confidential information received from any law 10 

enforcement agency or any information received from any person with 11 

assurances that the information would be maintained as confidential,. and 12 

nothing Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to 13 

divulge any information that might reveal the identity of any source of 14 

information or jeopardize the safety of any person.  15 

(f) Renewal applications for owners shall be received no later than 120 days 16 

prior to the expiration of the current registration, together with all required 17 

fees.  If an application is received after this 120-day deadline, an “expedited 18 

processing fee” of $60 shall be submitted with the application.  If an 19 

expedited processing fee is due but has not been received, the application 20 

shall be deemed incomplete a registration renewal shall not be issued. 21 

(g) Renewal applications for supervisors, players, and other employees shall be 22 

received no later than 90 days prior to the expiration of the current 23 

registration, together with the required $500 application fee.  If an 24 
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application is received after this 90-day deadline, an expedited processing 1 

fee of $60 shall be submitted with the application.  If an expedited 2 

processing fee is due but has not been received, a registration renewal shall 3 

not be issued. 4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code. 6 

Section 12203.1.  Temporary Player Registration. 7 

(a) While an application for regular player registration is being processed, and 8 

subject to section 12203.2, the Executive Director may issue a temporary 9 

registration pursuant to this section, which shall be valid for no more than 60 10 

days.  The duration of the temporary work permit shall not substantially 11 

exceed the estimated time to process and consider the registration 12 

application, but may be extended if necessary; provided that in no event 13 

shall a temporary registration be valid for more than 120 days.  In 14 

determining the duration of the temporary work permit, the Executive 15 

Director shall consider relevant factors, including, without limitation, the 16 

period of time required to complete an ongoing criminal investigation and 17 

any case-specific concerns that may be present. 18 

 19 

(b) Upon issuance of a regular registration, the registration previously issued to 20 

the registrant shall become void and shall not be used thereafter. 21 

 22 

(c) In the event that the regular registration is issued prior to Commission action 23 

on the application for the temporary registration, the application for the 24 

temporary work permit shall be deemed withdrawn and no further action 25 
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will be taken on it. 1 

(d) The Executive Director may request in writing from the applicant any 2 

additional information needed to establish whether or not the applicant is 3 

qualified to receive a temporary registration.  The Executive Director shall 4 

allow the applicant no less than 20 days in which to furnish the information.  5 

If the applicant fails to respond to the request, the temporary registration 6 

application shall be deemed abandoned and no further action will be taken 7 

on it. 8 

 9 

(e) If an application for a regular registration is withdrawn, the application for a 10 

temporary registration shall be deemed abandoned and no further action will 11 

be taken on it by the Commission. 12 

 13 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 14 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 15 

 16 

Section 12203.2 Application for Temporary Player 17 

Registration: Application; Criteria 18 

The Executive Director shall, within 15 days of receiving a complete application, 19 

issue a temporary player registration valid for 120 60 days if all of the following 20 

requirements are met: 21 

(a) The applicant has applied for a temporary player registration by completing 22 

the Commission’s registration application form, requesting issuance of a 23 

temporary registration by checking the appropriate box on the application 24 
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form, and submitting with the application a nonrefundable $25.00 temporary 1 

registration fee, in addition to the regular registration fee of $500. 2 

(b) The applicant has supplied all of the following to the Commission: 3 

(1) The applicant’s name, mailing address, residence street address (if 4 

different than mailing address), telephone number, e-mail address 5 

(optional), and date of birth. 6 

(2) A two by two inch color passport-style photograph taken no more 7 

than 30 days one year before submission to the Commission of the 8 

registration application, which shall be in addition to the photograph 9 

submitted for the regular registration. 10 

(3) Information concerning the primary owner with which the position is 11 

available: the name of the primary owner, mailing address, voice 12 

telephone number, facsimile number (if any), e-mail address (if any), 13 

and the job title of the position, and the name of the owner or 14 

authorized agent. 15 

(4) A Request for Live Scan Service (California Department of Justice 16 

Form BCII 8016, rev. 4/01,), confirming that the applicant has 17 

submitted his or her fingerprints to the Bureau for an automated 18 

background check and response. 19 

(c) Neither the application in its entirety nor the results of the investigation of 20 

the applicant reported by the Division to the Commission review of the 21 

applicant’s criminal history up until the date of issuance of the temporary 22 

registration discloses any of the following: 23 

(1) The applicant has been convicted of any felony. 24 

(2) The applicant has, within the 10-year period immediately 25 
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preceding the submission of the application, been convicted of any of 1 

the following offenses, not including convictions which have been 2 

expunged or dismissed as provided by law: 3 

(A) A misdemeanor involving a firearm or other deadly weapon. 4 

(B) A misdemeanor involving gaming or gaming related activities 5 

prohibited by Chapter 9 (commencing with section 319) and 6 

Chapter 10 (commencing with section 330) of Title 9 of Part 1 7 

of the Penal Code. 8 

(C) A misdemeanor involving a violation of an ordinance of any 9 

city, county, or city and county, which pertains to gambling or 10 

gambling-related activities. 11 

(D) A misdemeanor involving violations of the Gambling Control 12 

Act. 13 

(E) A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or moral turpitude. 14 

(3) The applicant has had an application for a gambling license, work 15 

permit, or proposition player registration, proposition player license, 16 

gambling business registration, or gambling business license denied. 17 

(4) The applicant has had a gambling license, work permit, proposition 18 

player registration, proposition player license, gambling business 19 

registration, or gambling business license revoked, or proposition 20 

player registration denied. 21 

(5) The applicant is disqualified under the Gambling Control Act or other 22 

provisions of law from holding a temporary registration. 23 

(d) The Division has reported one of the following to the Commission 24 

concerning the Request for Live Scan Service submitted to the Bureau The 25 
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review of the applicant’s criminal history has resulted in one of the 1 

following: 2 

(1) A response has been received from the Bureau or Federal authorities 3 

that is consistent with a finding that the applicant has not sustained 4 

any disqualifying criminal convictions, or,  5 

(2) No response from the Bureau or Federal authorities has been received 6 

within the time period set forth in subdivision subsection (b) of 7 

section 12126 12203.2. 8 

(e) The application and other information obtained during the review 9 

does not disclose any factor indicating that approval of the temporary 10 

registration may in the judgment of the Executive Director 11 

present a danger to the public or to the reputation of controlled 12 

gambling or proposition playing in this state. 13 

(f) The applicant is not ineligible under Business and Professions Code 14 

section 19859, subdivisions (b), (e), (f), or (g), the terms of which are 15 

incorporated by reference and hereby expressly made applicable to 16 

applications for temporary work permits player registrations. 17 

 18 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code. 19 

 20 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code. 21 

 22 

Section 12203.3 Processing Times for Temporary Player 23 

Registration 24 
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(a) Applications for issuance of a temporary player registration by the 1 

Executive Secretary shall be processed within the following time 2 

frames:  3 

(1) The maximum time within which the Commission shall notify the 4 

applicant in writing that an application or a resubmitted application is 5 

complete and accepted for filing, or that an application or a 6 

resubmitted application is deficient and identifying what specific 7 

additional information is required, is five working days. 8 

(2) A temporary registration shall be either granted or denied within no 9 

more than 15 working days after the filing of a completed application. 10 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code. 11 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code. 12 

 13 

Section 12203.4.  Effect of Denial or Cancellation of Temporary 14 

Registration 15 

 16 

Denial of an application for a temporary registration or cancellation of a temporary 17 

registration shall not suspend the processing and review of the related application 18 

for a regular registration. 19 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 20 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 21 

 22 
Section 12203.5  Cancellation of Temporary Registration 23 
 24 
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(a)  Any temporary registration issued in accordance with this article shall be 1 

subject to summary cancellation pursuant to subsections (b) and (c) of this 2 

section. 3 

(b) A temporary work permit shall be cancelled by the Executive Director at any 4 

time if any of the following applies: 5 

(1) The Commission determines that it has received reliable information 6 

that the holder of the temporary registration is ineligible under 7 

subsection (c) of section 12203.2, has failed to reveal any fact 8 

material to the holder’s qualification for temporary registration, or has 9 

supplied information to the Commission that is untrue or misleading 10 

as to a material fact pertaining to the criteria for issuance of temporary 11 

registrations. 12 

(2) The applicant’s regular registration application is referred by a vote of 13 

the Commission for an evidentiary hearing pursuant Business and 14 

Professions Code section 19825, and the Commission directs the 15 

Executive Director to cancel the temporary registration. 16 

(3) The Executive Director receives from the applicant a request to 17 

withdraw his or her application for regular work permit. 18 

(c) If any of the circumstances set forth in subsection (b) applies, then the 19 

Executive Director shall immediately do all of the following: 20 

(1) Notify the temporary registration holder, the primary owner, the local law 21 

enforcement agency, and the Division in writing of the cancellation of the 22 

temporary registration and the grounds for cancellation. 23 

 24 
(2) Require the primary owner employing the registrant to terminate 25 

immediately any employment of the holder of the cancelled temporary 26 

registration covered by the cancelled temporary registration. 27 
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   (3) Notify the temporary registrant that he or she is required to surrender 1 

the temporary registration badge to the Commission not more than ten 2 

days following the date that the notice of cancellation was mailed or 3 

such greater time as is authorized by the Executive Director. 4 

 5 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 7 

Section 12204. Ineligibility for Registration 8 

 An applicant shall be ineligible for registration for any of the following causes: 9 

(a) Except for an individual seeking registration as “other employee,” an 10 

individual applicant is under the age of 21. 11 

(b) The applicant has been convicted of any felony, including a conviction in a 12 

court of the United States or any other state of an offense that is classified as 13 

a felony by the laws of this state.  14 

(b)(c) The applicant has, within the ten year period immediately preceding the 15 

submission of the application, been convicted of a misdemeanor involving a 16 

firearm or other deadly weapon, gaming or gaming-related activities 17 

prohibited by Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 319) or Chapter 10 18 

(commencing with section 330) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the Penal Code, 19 

violations of the Gambling Control Act, or dishonesty or moral turpitude, 20 

not including convictions which have been expunged or dismissed as 21 

provided by law.  22 
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(c)(d) If the application is for registration as an owner, supervisor, or player, the 1 

applicant has been subject to a final administrative or judicial adjudication 2 

revoking a registration under this chapter or a state gambling license, key 3 

employee license, work permit or finding of suitability or has had an 4 

application denied under this chapter or the Gambling Control Act.   5 

(d)(e) The applicant would be ineligible for a state gambling license under any of 6 

the criteria set forth in Business and Professions Code section 19859, 7 

subdivisions (b), (e), or (f), or (g), the terms of which are incorporated by 8 

reference and hereby expressly made applicable to applications for 9 

registration under this chapter.   10 

(e)(f) The applicant would be ineligible for a state gambling license under 11 

Business and Professions Code section 19858, the terms of which are 12 

incorporated by reference and hereby expressly made applicable to 13 

applications for registration under this chapter.  14 

(f)(g) The applicant has violated one or more of the prohibitions set forth in 15 

Subsection 12200.7(b)(5), (10)  (11), or (20) or Subsection 12200.7(c)(c)(1) 16 

and (3). 17 

(g)(h) The applicant has failed to comply with one or more of the requirements set 18 

forth in Subsection 12200.7(b)(8), (9), (15), (16), or (17), (18), (21), or in 19 

Subsections 12200.7(c)(2) or (e). 20 

(h) The applicant has failed to act in accordance with the requirements of 21 

Subsection 12200.7(c). 22 

(i) The applicant is ineligible based on any other provision of law. 23 
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Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 1 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 2 

12205.  Cancellation of Registration 3 

(a) Any registration issued in accordance with this chapter shall be subject to 4 

cancellation pursuant to this section.  A registration shall be cancelled if the 5 

Commission determines upon a noticed hearing that the registrant is 6 

ineligible for registration, has failed in the application for registration to 7 

reveal any fact material to the holder’s qualification for registration, or has 8 

supplied information in the registration application that is untrue or 9 

misleading as to a material fact pertaining to the criteria for issuance of 10 

registration. 11 

(b) If the Commission finds that any of the circumstances set forth in subsection 12 

(a) apply, then the Executive Director shall immediately do all of the 13 

following: 14 

(1) Provide written notice to the registrant and the Division of the 15 

cancellation of the registration and the grounds thereof, and provide 16 

written notice of the cancellation to the owner, if the registrant is a 17 

supervisor, player, or other employee and to any gambling 18 

establishment in which the registrant provides proposition player 19 

services. 20 

 (2) Notify the registrant that he or she is required to surrender the 21 

registrant’s badge to the Commission not more than ten days 22 
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following the date that the notice of the cancellation was mailed or 1 

such greater time as is authorized by the Executive Director. 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code. 3 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 4 

 Section 12206. Badge 5 

All individuals registered as owners, supervisors, players, and all other employees 6 

of the owner shall wear in a prominently visible location a numbered badge issued 7 

by the Commission when present in a gambling establishment during the provision 8 

of proposition player services under the proposition player contract that covers the 9 

registrant. The words “ TPP PLAYER REGISTRANT” in capital letters shall be 10 

prominently displayed on the badge above the registrant’s category of registration 11 

as an owner, supervisor, player or other employee.  Below that portion of the badge 12 

there shall be displayed the picture of the registrant submitted with the application 13 

and the badge number, registrant’s first name, and expiration date.  The registrant’s 14 

full name shall be printed on the reverse side of the badge. 15 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 16 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 17 

Section 12207. Proposition Player Contract Criteria 18 

(a) All proposition player contracts shall be subject to, and superseded by, any 19 
changes in the requirements of regulations adopted under Business and 20 
Professions Code section 19984 that conflict with or supplement provisions 21 
of the proposition player contract. 22 
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(b) Each proposition player contract shall specifically require all of the 1 
following to be separately set forth at the beginning of the contract: 2 

(1) The names of the parties to the contract.  3 

(2) The effective dates of the contract. 4 

(3) The specific name of the Division-approved gaming activities for 5 
which proposition player services will be provided. 6 

(4) The maximum and minimum number of gaming tables available to the 7 
proposition player provider service. 8 

(5) That no more than one owner, supervisor, or player from each 9 
provider of proposition player service shall simultaneously play at a 10 
table. 11 

(6) The hours of operation that proposition player services will be 12 
provided.  13 

 14 

(7) A detailed description of the location, applicable security measures, 15 
and purpose of any currency, chips, or other wagering instruments that 16 
will be stored, maintained, or kept within the gambling establishment 17 
by or on behalf of the primary owner.    18 

(8) That proposition player services shall be provided in the gambling 19 
establishment only in compliance with laws and regulations pertaining 20 
to controlled gambling. 21 

(9) That proposition player services may be provided only by owners, 22 
supervisors, and players with current registration under this chapter. 23 

(10) That a registrant may not provide proposition player services in a 24 
gambling establishment for which the registrant holds a state 25 
gambling license, key employee license, or work permit. 26 

(11) That collection fees charged by the house for participation in 27 
any controlled game shall be the same as those charged to other 28 
participants during the play of the game.    29 

(12) The form to be used for the playing book record and the initial 30 
number that will be used for the sequentially numbered forms. 31 
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(13) Any agreement between the primary owner and the house for 1 
owners or supervisors to inspect or receive a copy of 2 
surveillance recordings of tables at which proposition player 3 
services are provided under the contract during the times the 4 
services are provided, as necessary for business purposes.   5 

(14) A full disclosure of any financial arrangements entered into 6 
during the term of the contract for any purpose between the 7 
house and any registrant covered by the proposition player 8 
contract.  If there is no financial consideration that passes under 9 
the contract, a statement to that effect shall be included. 10 

 (15)  That any legal dispute between the owner and the house, 11 
including any exclusion of a registered owner, player, or 12 
supervisor covered by the contract from the house shall be 13 
within 10 days reported by the primary owner and the house to 14 
the Commission and Division. 15 

(16) That the primary owner and the house shall within 10 days 16 
report to the Commission and Division the identity of any 17 
registrant whose activities are covered by the proposition player 18 
contract and who is arrested in the gambling establishment by a 19 
peace officer, who is removed from the gambling establishment 20 
by a peace officer or the house, or who is involved in a patron 21 
dispute regarding his or her activities in the gambling 22 
establishment that is the subject of a report to a peace officer 23 
and that results in removal of one or more individuals. 24 

(17) That any cheating reported to the house by a registrant shall be 25 
reported within 5 days by the primary owner and the house to 26 
the Commission and Division. 27 

(c) Except as expressly authorized by this subsection, a proposition player 28 
contract shall not include any provision authorizing payment to or receipt by 29 
the house, or a designee thereof, of any share of the profits or revenues of a 30 
registrant.  Any payments made by a registrant to the house for a purpose 31 
determined by agreement with the house shall be specifically authorized by 32 
the proposition player contract.  All payments shall be specified in the 33 
contract.  In no event may a proposition player contract provide for any 34 
payment based on a percentage or fraction of the registrant’s gross profits or 35 
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wagers made or the number of players.  All payments shall be fixed and 1 
shall only be made for services and facilities requested by, and provided to, 2 
the registrant, and for a reasonable share of the cost of advertising with 3 
respect to gaming at the gambling establishment in which the registered 4 
owner participates. No contract provision shall authorize any payments for 5 
services or facilities that are substantially disproportionate to the value of the 6 
services or facilities provided. No payment other than the collection of fees 7 
for play, shall be required for play at any table, including, without limitation, 8 
reservation of a seat. 9 

(d) The proposition player contract shall not contain any provision that limits 10 
contact with officials or employees of the Commission or Division.  The 11 
proposition player contract shall prohibit an owner or the house from 12 
retaliating against any registrant on account of contact with an official or 13 
employee of the Commission or Division or any other public official or 14 
agency. 15 

(e) A proposition player contract shall be consistent with the provisions of 16 
Business and Professions Code section 19984, subdivision (a), prohibiting a 17 
gambling establishment or the house from having any interest, whether 18 
direct or indirect, in funds wagered, lost, or won.  No proposition player 19 
contract shall be approved that would permit the house to bank any game in 20 
the gambling establishment. 21 

(f) Each proposition player contract approved by the Division shall 22 

contain a provision authorizing the Commission, after receiving the findings and 23 

recommendation of the Division, to terminate the contract for any material 24 

violation of any term required by this section. 25 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code. 26 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 27 

Section 12208. Review and Approval of Proposition Player 28 

Contracts 29 
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(a) (1) On and after April 30, 2004, proposition player services shall not be 1 
provided except pursuant to a proposition player contract, in writing, 2 
approved in advance by the Division.  Provision of proposition player 3 
services by any person subject to registration under this chapter, or 4 
engagement of proposition player services by the holder of a state 5 
gambling license, without a contract as required by this section is a 6 
violation of this section. The Division shall approve a proposition 7 
player contract if the contract is consistent with this regulation and the 8 
Act; the contract does not provide for controlled gambling that will be 9 
conducted in a manner that is inimical to the public health, safety, or 10 
welfare; the contract will not create or enhance the dangers of 11 
unsuitable, unfair, or illegal practices, methods, or activities in the 12 
conduct of controlled gambling or in the carrying on of the business 13 
and financial arrangements incidental thereto; and will not undermine 14 
public trust that the controlled gambling operations covered by the 15 
contract will be conducted honestly, by reason of the existence or 16 
perception of any collusive arrangement between any party to the 17 
contract and the holder of a state gambling license, or otherwise.     18 

(2) Prior to December 7, 2003, each primary owner that is providing 19 
proposition player services at a gambling establishment on the date 20 
that these regulations originally became effective (November 6, 2003) 21 
shall submit an Application for Contract Approval Provider of 22 
Proposition Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 09/03), which is 23 
hereby incorporated by reference.  24 

(3) A complete application for contract approval shall include all of the 25 
following:  26 

 27 
(A)  A completed Application for Contract Approval Provider of 28 

Proposition Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 09/03). 29 
 30 
(B) A completed Appointment of Designated Agent for Owners and 31 

Proposition Players (DGC-APP.031, rev. 09/03) which is 32 
hereby incorporated by reference. 33 

 34 
(C) An executed copy of the contract that specifically addresses all 35 

of the requirements of Section 12207. 36 
 37 
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(D)  A playing book form that specifically addresses all of the 1 
requirements of section 12209. 2 

 3 
(E) A five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable application fee. 4 

 5 
(F) A deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the Director of 6 

the Division, will be sufficient to pay the anticipated processing 7 
costs.  The Division may require an additional sum to be 8 
deposited to pay the final costs of the review and approval or 9 
disapproval of the contract.  Any money received as a deposit in 10 
excess of the costs incurred in the review and approval or 11 
disapproval of the contract will be refunded and an itemized 12 
accounting will be provided to the primary owner, or primary 13 
owner’s designee. 14 

 (4) The Division shall notify the applicant, in writing, within ten working 15 
days of receiving the application that the application or resubmitted 16 
application is complete or incomplete.  If an application is incomplete, 17 
the Division shall request, in writing, any information, fees, or 18 
documentation needed to complete the application.  Unless extended 19 
by the Division for further investigation up to 90 days or with the 20 
consent of the applicant, review and approval or disapproval of a 21 
proposition player contract shall be completed within 90 days of 22 
receiving a completed application and notice thereof shall be sent via 23 
United States mail to the applicant or the applicant’s designee within 24 
10 days of the Division’s decision.  Notice of disapproval of the 25 
contract or amendments shall specify the cause. 26 

(5) The Division may make available to any applicant, upon request, 27 
examples of previously approved contracts, as modified to delete any 28 
identifying information of the parties, any reference to the specific 29 
amount of monetary consideration, and any other terms or conditions 30 
of the contract that the Division determines should remain 31 
confidential.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to require 32 
the Division to approve a contract in the form of any exemplar 33 
contract made available pursuant to this paragraph. 34 

(b) (1) In lieu of the procedure specified in subsection (a), the Division shall 35 
provide an expedited review process of an application for contract 36 
approval if all of the following conditions exist: 37 
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 1 
(A) Proposition player services were provided in the gambling 2 

establishment at any time during the 30 days preceding the 3 
application pursuant to a contract that was previously approved 4 
by the Division and that has been terminated. 5 

 6 
(B) The proposed contract is between the house and a different 7 

primary owner than the previous contract under which 8 
proposition player services were provided in the gambling 9 
establishment. 10 

 11 
(C) The terms of the proposed contract are substantially identical to 12 

the contract previously approved by the Division under which 13 
proposition player services were provided in the gambling 14 
establishment at any time during the 30 days preceding the 15 
application.   16 

 17 
(2) If an application for contract approval is submitted as an expedited 18 

contract request and the Division determines that it does not meet the 19 
criteria, the primary owner or designee and the house shall be notified 20 
within one business day of the Division’s decision.  Any contract that 21 
is not processed through the expedited review and approval process 22 
shall be treated as a new contract request and reviewed and approved 23 
or disapproved as otherwise provided by subsection (a). 24 

 25 
(3) The Division shall complete the expedited review and approval of a 26 

contract within three business days of receiving all of the following: 27 
 28 
(A)  A completed Application for Contract Approval Provider of 29 

Proposition Player Services (DGC-APP.030, rev. 09/03). 30 
 31 
(B) A completed Appointment of Designated Agent for Owners and 32 

Proposition Players (DGC-APP.031, rev. 09/03). 33 
 34 
(C) An executed copy of the contract that specifically addresses all 35 

the requirements of Section 12207. 36 
 37 
(D) A playing book form that specifically addresses all the 38 

requirements of Section 12209. 39 
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 1 
(E) A five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable application fee. 2 

(F) A deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the Director of 3 
the Division, will be sufficient to pay the anticipated processing 4 
costs.  The Division may require an additional sum to be 5 
deposited to pay the final costs of the review and approval or 6 
disapproval of the contract.  Any money received as a deposit in 7 
excess of the costs incurred in the review and approval or 8 
disapproval of the contract will be refunded and an itemized 9 
accounting will be provided to the primary owner, or primary 10 
owner’s designee.   11 

(c) (1) Within 15 days of receiving any complete application for approval of 12 
a proposition player contract or amendment, the Division shall submit 13 
the contract or amendment to the Commission for review and 14 
comment.  The Commission shall provide the Division with 15 
comments, if any, within 10 days of receipt of the contract or 16 
amendment.  This paragraph does not apply to expedited approval 17 
under subsection (b). 18 

(2) A copy of the Division’s notice of approval or disapproval of a 19 
proposition player contract or amendment thereto shall be sent to the 20 
Commission.   21 

(d) An executed copy of the currently effective contract, and all amendment(s) 22 
thereto, and a copy of all Division notices that approved the contract and any 23 
amendment shall be maintained at the gambling establishment and shall be 24 
provided for review or copying upon request by any representative of the 25 
Commission or Division. 26 

(e) The term of any proposition player contract shall not exceed one year and 27 
shall not be extended or renewed without the prior approval of the Division.   28 
No amendment changing any of the contract terms referred to in Section 29 
12207, other than paragraphs (3) and (6) of subsection (b) thereof, may 30 
become effective during the term of a proposition player contract without the 31 
prior written approval of the Division.  If any amendment is made to a 32 
proposition player contract term specified in paragraph (3) or (6) of 33 
subsection (b) of Section 12207, both parties to the contract shall notify the 34 
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Commission and Division in writing of the amendment within 10 days of the 1 
execution thereof by the parties to the contract. 2 

(f) Requests to review and approve an amendment to a proposition player 3 
contract shall be submitted with an application for approval along with an 4 
executed copy of the contract, a five hundred dollar ($500) nonrefundable 5 
application fee, and a deposit in such amount as, in the judgment of the 6 
Director of the Division, will be sufficient to pay the anticipated processing 7 
costs.  The Division may require an additional sum to be deposited to pay 8 
the final costs of the review and approval or disapproval of the amendment.  9 
Any money received as a deposit in excess of the costs incurred in the 10 
review and approval or disapproval of the amendment shall be refunded and 11 
an itemized accounting shall be provided to the primary owner or the 12 
primary owner’s designee.  13 

 (g)  All proposition player contracts shall be subject to, and superseded by, any 14 
changes in the requirements of regulations adopted under Business and 15 
Professions Code section 19984 that conflict with or supplement provisions 16 
of the proposition player contract. 17 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 18 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 19 

Section 12209.  Playing Books 20 

(a) The primary owner shall be responsible for assuring that their players 21 
maintain accurate, complete, and up-to-date playing books for all sessions of 22 
play worked in conformity with regulations of the Commission.  The 23 
information in the playing-book record shall be transferred to the primary 24 
owner, or a supervisor designated by the primary owner, on a daily basis.  25 
Primary owners shall maintain this information at a single location in the 26 
State of California, and shall maintain the original playing book records in 27 
the State of California, for at least five years.  The location or locations 28 
where the records of this information and the original playing book records 29 
are maintained, and any change therein, shall be disclosed to the 30 
Commission and Division by written notice mailed or delivered within five 31 
business days after establishing or changing such a location. 32 
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(b) Playing books shall be prepared and maintained as follows: 1 

 (1) Playing book forms shall be reviewed and approved or disapproved 2 
during the review of the contract by the Division. 3 

(2) Each form in the playing book shall be recorded in ink and include, 4 
but not be limited to, the following information: 5 

(A) Sequential numbers.  Any unused form shall be voided and 6 
maintained in the playing book. 7 

(B) Specify the name of the gambling establishment where play 8 
occurred. 9 

(C) The date when play occurred.  10 

(D) Beginning and ending balances.  11 

(E) All fills and credits affecting the balance shall be individually 12 
identified. 13 

(F) The printed full name and badge number of the proposition 14 
player, which includes owners, supervisors, and/or players. 15 

(G) The table number. 16 

(H) The specific name of the Division-approved gaming activity. 17 

(I) The name of the primary owner. 18 

(3) The form for each session of play shall be dated and signed under 19 

penalty of perjury by the person who prepared it and shall include a 20 

declaration in the following form: “I declare under penalty of perjury 21 

under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 22 

correct.” 23 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 24 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 25 
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Section 12210.  Transfers and Sales 1 

No individual who is an owner shall in any manner transfer any interest in the 2 

proposition player services operation to any person, firm, or corporation not then 3 

an owner of an interest therein, and such a transfer shall not become effective for 4 

any purpose, until the proposed transferee or transferees have made application for 5 

and obtained registration as an owner from the Commission.   Applications for a 6 

transfer of the interest shall be made by the transferee applying for registration 7 

under this regulation.  Evidence of the transferor's agreement to transfer the interest 8 

shall accompany the application for registration. 9 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 10 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 11 

Section 12211. Inspections 12 

When requested by a representative of the Commission or Division, a registrant 13 

shall immediately permit the Commission or Division representative, in 14 

accordance with the request, to inspect, copy, or audit all requested documents, 15 

papers, books, and other records of the registrant related to the provision of 16 

proposition player services.  If the records are maintained in electronic form and 17 

the registrant is requested to do so, the registrant shall provide a printed copy 18 

pursuant to this section.   19 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 20 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 21 

Section 12212.  Compliance 22 
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 1 

(a) Registrants shall comply with game rules approved by the Division 2 

regarding player-dealer rotation and table wagering. No registrant shall be 3 

accorded any preference by the house over other players; provided, that a 4 

proposition player contract may, at any table assigned for play by the 5 

contracted registrant, preclude players of any other registrant under this 6 

chapter or chapter 2.2 of this title from playing at that table during the 7 

periods of play assigned by the proposition player contract for the contracted 8 

registrant.  For purposes of this subsection, “preference” means and is 9 

limited to both of the following if sanctioned by house rule or otherwise 10 

directed by the house or its employees: 11 

 12 

(1)  Any priority in the continuous and systematic rotation of the deal, 13 

as required by Penal Code section 330.11, such that a registrant 14 

becomes entitled by reason of the priority to occupy the player-15 

dealer position more often than other players.  Nothing in this 16 

paragraph precludes the house from assigning a particular seat to a 17 

registrant. 18 

(2)    Any advantage to the registrant over other players in the placement 19 

of wagers. 20 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 21 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 22 

Section 12213. Revocation 23 
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The Commission may revoke a registration, upon any of the following grounds, 1 
after a hearing conducted pursuant to the same procedures applicable to revocation 2 
of gambling establishment licenses: 3 

(a)  The registrant committed, attempted to commit, or conspired to commit any 4 
acts prohibited by the Gambling Control Act or this chapter. 5 

(b)  Any act or omission by the registrant that would disqualify the registrant 6 
from obtaining registration under this chapter. 7 

(c)  The registrant engaged in any dishonest, fraudulent, or unfairly deceptive 8 
activities in connection with controlled gambling, including any violation of 9 
laws related to cheating. 10 

(d)   The registrant failed or refused to comply with the requirements of Section 11 
12211. 12 

(e)  The registrant concealed or refused to disclose any material fact in any 13 
inquiry by the Division or the Commission. 14 

(f)  The registrant committed, attempted, or conspired to commit any 15 
embezzlement or larceny against a gambling licensee or proposition player 16 
registrant or upon the premises of a gambling establishment. 17 

(g)  The registrant has been lawfully excluded from being present upon the 18 
premises of any licensed gambling establishment for any reason relating to 19 
cheating or any violation of the Gambling Control Act by the registrant. 20 

(h)   The primary owner or any other owner knowingly permitted one or more of 21 
the owner’s supervisors or players to commit any act described in 22 
subsections (a) to (f), inclusive. 23 

(i)   The primary owner or any other owner knew, or failed to implement 24 

reasonable oversight procedures that would have apprised the owner, that 25 

one or more of the owner’s supervisors or players was in violation of one or 26 

more provisions of this chapter or of the Gambling Control Act and failed or 27 

refused to take action to prevent the recurrence of the violation or violations. 28 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 29 
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Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 1 

 Section 12214. Emergency Orders 2 

Registrants under this chapter shall be subject to emergency orders under Business 3 

and Professions Code section 19931.  4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Sections 19984 and 19931, Business and Professions Code 6 

 7 

Article 3.  Licensing 8 

Section 12218. Application for Initial Licensing Request to 9 

Convert Registration to Licensure 10 

(a) License applications shall be submitted only in response to a written 11 

summons from the Division to a registrant pursuant to Section 12200.25.  12 

Registrants whose applications were approved on or before March 31, 2004 13 

shall be summoned before registrants whose applications were approved 14 

after that date.  A request to convert a registration to a license shall be 15 

submitted only in response to a written summons from the Division to a 16 

primary owner pursuant to Section 12200.25.   Each primary owner’s 17 

request shall be accompanied by the requests of all affiliated owners, 18 

supervisors, players, and other employees. 19 

(b)  The application for licensing request to convert a registration to a license 20 

shall designate whether the registration license is requested as a primary 21 
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owner, other owner, supervisor, player, or other employee.  The application 1 

request shall be signed by the individual applicant requester or, if the 2 

applicant requester is a business entity, by the chief executive officer or 3 

other designated officer of the business entity. 4 

(c)   An application for licensing The request to convert a registration to a license  5 

shall include all of the following: 6 

(1)   A completed Application for Third Party Proposition Player Services 7 

Licensing Request for Conversion of a Third Party Proposition Player 8 

Services Registration to a License (CGCC-437, New 6/04), which is 9 

hereby incorporated by reference. 10 

(2) A Request for Live Scan Service (California Department of Justice 11 

Form BCII 8016, rev. 4/01) for an applicant that is an individual, 12 

confirming that the applicant’s fingerprints have been submitted to the 13 

Bureau for an automated background check and response Two (2) 14 

two-by-two inch color passport-style photographs of a requester that 15 

is an individual taken no more than one year before submission of the 16 

request to the Commission.  17 

 (3) The supplemental information package. 18 

(4) A sum of money that, in the judgment of the Director of the Division, 19 

will be adequate to pay the anticipated investigation and processing 20 

costs, in accordance with Business and Professions Code section 21 

19867. 22 
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(d) Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 1 

to the requester any confidential information received from any law 2 

enforcement agency or any information received from any person with 3 

assurances that the information would be maintained as confidential.  4 

Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 5 

any information that might reveal the identity of any source of information 6 

or jeopardize the safety of any person. 7 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 8 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 9 

Section 12218.5 Withdrawal of Request to Convert 10 

Registration to License 11 

 12 

(a) A request for withdrawal of a request to convert a registration to a license 13 

may be made at any time prior to final action upon the request by the 14 

Director by the filing of a written request to withdraw with the Commission. 15 

For the purposes of this section, final action by the Division means a final 16 

determination by the Director regarding his or her recommendation on the 17 

request to the Commission.   18 

(b) The Commission shall not grant the request unless the requester has 19 

established that withdrawal of the request would be consistent with the 20 

public interest and the policies of the Gambling Control Act and this chapter.  21 

If a request for withdrawal is denied, the Division may go forward with its 22 

investigation and make a recommendation to the commission upon the 23 

request, and the Commission may act upon the request to convert as if no 24 

request for withdrawal had been made.  25 
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(c) If a request for withdrawal is granted with prejudice, the requester thereafter 1 

shall be ineligible to renew its request until the expiration of one year from 2 

the date of the withdrawal.  Unless the Commission otherwise directs, no 3 

payment relating to any request is refundable by reason of withdrawal of 4 

request. 5 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

Reference: Sections 19869 and 19984, Business and Professions Code 7 

 8 

Section 12218.7 Processing Times--Request to Convert 9 

Registration to License 10 

 11 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a request to convert a 12 

registration to license submitted pursuant to this chapter shall be 13 

processed within the following timeframes: 14 

 15 

(1) The maximum time within which the Commission shall notify the 16 

applicant in writing that a request or a resubmitted request is complete 17 

and accepted for initial processing by the Commission, or that a 18 

request or a resubmitted requested is deficient and identifying what 19 

specific additional information is required, is 20 days after receipt of 20 

the request.  For the purposes of this section, “request” means the 21 

Request for Conversion of a Third Party Proposition Player Services 22 

Registration to a License (CGCC-437, New 6/04), which was 23 

incorporated by reference in Section 12218.  A request is not complete 24 

unless accompanied by (1) a copy of the summons from the Division 25 

setting a deadline for filing the request with the Commission and (2) 26 
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the supplemental information package required by section 12218(c)(3) 1 

for review by the Division pursuant to paragraph (3) of this subsection 2 

for persons affiliated with the primary owner to whom the summons 3 

was addressed.  The supplemental information shall not be reviewed 4 

for completeness by the Commission. 5 

  6 

(2) A request and the supplemental information package shall be 7 

forwarded by the Commission to the Division for processing within 8 

10 days of the date that the Commission determines that the request is 9 

complete. 10 

 11 

(3) The Division shall review the supplemental information package 12 

submitted for completeness and notify the applicant of any 13 

deficiencies in the supplemental information package, or that the 14 

supplemental information package is complete, within 45 days of the 15 

date that the request and supplemental information package are 16 

received by the Division from the Commission.  Notwithstanding this 17 

subsection, subsequent to acceptance of the supplemental information 18 

package as complete, the Division may, pursuant to Business and 19 

Professions Code section 19866, require the requester to submit 20 

additional information. 21 

 22 

(4) Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 19868, the 23 

Division shall, to the extent practicable, submit its recommendation to 24 

the Commission within 180 days after the date the Division is in 25 

receipt of both the completed request pursuant to paragraph (2) of this 26 
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subsection and the completed supplemental information package 1 

pursuant to paragraph (3) of this subsection.  If the Division has not 2 

concluded its investigation within 180 days, then it shall inform the 3 

applicant and the Commission in writing of the status of the 4 

investigation and shall also provide the applicant and the Commission 5 

with an estimated date on which the investigation may reasonably be 6 

expected to be concluded. 7 

  8 

(5) The Commission shall grant or deny the request within 120 days after 9 

receipt of the final written recommendation of the Division 10 

concerning the request, except that the Commission may notify the 11 

applicant in writing that additional time, not to exceed 30 days, is 12 

needed. 13 

 14 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 15 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code sections 16 

 17 

Section 12218.11  Ineligibility for Licensing  18 

A requester shall be ineligible for licensing for any of the following causes: 19 

(a) Except for an individual seeking licensing as “other employee,” an 20 

individual applicant is under the age of 21.  21 

(b) The requester has been convicted of any felony, including a conviction in a 22 

court of the United States or any other state of an offense that is classified as 23 

a felony by the laws of this state.  24 
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(c) The requester has, within the ten year period immediately preceding the 1 

submission of the request to convert, been convicted of a misdemeanor 2 

involving a firearm or other deadly weapon, gaming or gaming-related 3 

activities prohibited by Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 319) or 4 

Chapter 10 (commencing with section 330) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the Penal 5 

Code, violations of the Gambling Control Act, or dishonesty or moral 6 

turpitude.  7 

(d) If the request to convert is for licensing as an owner, supervisor, or player, 8 

the requester has been subject to a final administrative or judicial 9 

adjudication revoking a registration or license under this chapter or a state 10 

gambling license, key employee license, work permit or finding of 11 

suitability or has had an application denied under this chapter or the 12 

Gambling Control Act.   13 

(e) The requester would be ineligible for a state gambling license under any of 14 

the criteria set forth in Business and Professions Code section 19859, 15 

subdivisions (b), (e), or (f), the terms of which are incorporated by reference 16 

and hereby expressly made applicable to requests to convert under this 17 

chapter.   18 

(f) The requester would be ineligible for a state gambling license under 19 

Business and Professions Code section 19858, the terms of which are 20 

incorporated by reference and hereby expressly made applicable to 21 

applications for registration under this chapter.  22 

(g) The requester has violated one or more of the prohibitions set forth in 23 

Subsection 12200.7(b)(5), (11) and (20) or Subsection 12200.7(c)(1) and (3). 24 
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(h) The requester has failed to comply with one or more of the requirements set 1 

forth in Subsection 12200.7(b)(8), (9), (15), (16), (17), (18) or (21) or in 2 

Subsection 12200.7(c)(2) and (e). 3 

(i) The applicant is ineligible based on any other provision of law. 4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 5 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 6 

Section 12218.13 Term of License 7 

All initial licenses shall be issued for a period of two years.   Due to nonrecurring 8 

workload problems associated with the processing of the first round of requests to 9 

convert registrations to licenses, all other initial licenses that are granted within 10 

three years of the effective date of these regulations shall be issued for a period of 11 

two years.  Beginning July 1, 2007, all licenses other than player licenses and other 12 

employee licenses shall be issued for a period of one year, except as otherwise 13 

provided by a subsequently adopted regulation of the Commission. 14 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 15 

Reference: Section and 19984, Business and Professions Code 16 

 17 

 18 

Section 12218.15 Compliance –Licensing 19 

 20 
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(a)  Licensees shall comply with game rules approved by the Division 1 

regarding player-dealer rotation and table wagering. No licensee shall be 2 

accorded any preference by the house over other players; provided, that a 3 

proposition player contract may, at any table assigned for play by the 4 

contracted licensee, preclude players of any other licensee under this chapter 5 

or chapter 2.2 of this title from playing at that table during the periods of 6 

play assigned by the proposition player contract for the contracted licensee 7 

or registrant.  For purposes of this subsection, “preference” means and is  8 

limited to both of the following if sanctioned by house rule or otherwise 9 

directed by the house or its employees: 10 

 11 

(1)  Any priority in the continuous and systematic rotation of the deal, 12 

as required by Penal Code section 330.11, such that a licensee or 13 

registrant becomes entitled by reason of the priority to occupy the 14 

player-dealer position more often than other players.  Nothing in 15 

this paragraph precludes the house from assigning a particular seat 16 

to a licensee. 17 

(2)    Any advantage to the licensee over other players in the placement 18 

of wagers. 19 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 20 

Reference: Section 19984, Business and Professions Code 21 

Section 12218.17 Background Investigation Deposit 22 

Each applicant for a license shall submit with the application of sum of money that, 23 

in the judgment of the Director of the Division, will be adequate to pay the 24 
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anticipated investigation and processing costs, in accordance with Business and 1 

Professions Code section 19867. 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 3 

Reference: Sections 19867 and 19984, Business and Professions Code 4 

Section 12218.19 Term of License 5 

All initial licenses shall be issued for a period of two years.   Due to nonrecurring 6 

workload problems associated with the processing of initial license applications, all 7 

other initial licenses that are granted within two years of the effective date of these 8 

regulations shall be issued for a period of two years.  Beginning July 1, 2007, all 9 

licenses other than player licenses shall be issued for a period of one year, except 10 

as otherwise provided by a subsequently adopted regulation of the Commission. 11 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19984, Business and Professions Code 12 

Reference: Section and 19984, Business and Professions Code 13 

Chapter 2.2 Gambling Businesses: Registration; Licensing 14 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 15 

Article 2.  Registration 16 

Article 3.  Licensing 17 

Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 18 

Section 12220. Definitions 19 
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Section 12220.1 Certificate 1 

Section 12220.3 Badge 2 

Section 12220.5 Replacement of Badge 3 

Section 12220.6 Transfer of Player Registration or License 4 

Section 12220.13 Playing Book 5 

Section 12220.14 Organization Chart and Employee Report 6 

Section 12220.15 Transfer and Sales 7 

Section 12220.16 Inspections and Investigations 8 

Section 12220.17 Emergency Orders 9 

Section 12220.18 Revocation 10 

Section 12220.20 Annual Fee 11 

Section 12220.21 Compliance 12 

Section 12220.23 Exclusion 13 

Article 2.  Registration 14 

Section 12220.25 Transition to Licensing 15 

Section 12221. Registration 16 
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Section 12222. Application for Registration 1 

 2 

Section 12223. Processing of Applications 3 

Section 12224. Ineligibility for Registration 4 

 5 

Section 12225.  Cancellation of Registration 6 

 7 

Section 12226. Badge [to be repealed] 8 

 9 

Section 12227. Transfers and Sales [to be repealed] 10 

 11 

Section 12228. Inspections [to be repealed] 12 

 13 

Section 12229.  Compliance [to be repealed] 14 

  15 

Section 12230. Revocation [to be repealed] 16 

 17 

Section 12231. Emergency Orders [to be repealed] 18 

 19 

Section 12232.   Exclusion [to be repealed] 20 

 21 

Article 3.  Licensing 22 
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Section 12233   Request to Convert Registration to License 1 

Section 12234 Withdrawal of Request to Convert Registration to 2 

License 3 

Section 12235 Processing Times--Request to Convert 4 

Registration to License 5 

Section 12236  Ineligibility for Licensing 6 

Section 12237  Term of License 7 

 8 
Article 1.  Definitions and General Provisions 9 

      10 

Section 12220. Definitions 11 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b), the definitions in Business 12 

and Professions Code section 19805 shall govern the construction of this 13 

chapter. 14 

(b)  As used in this chapter:   15 

(1) “Applicant” means the applicant for registration under this chapter, 16 

including in the case of an owner that is a corporation, partnership, or 17 

any other business entity, all persons whose registrations or licenses 18 

are required to be endorsed upon the primary owner’s registration or 19 

license certificate.  20 
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(2) “Authorized player” means an individual associated with a particular 1 

primary owner whose badge authorizes play in a controlled game on 2 

behalf of the primary owner, including the primary owner, all other 3 

owners, all supervisors, and all players.  “Authorized player” does not 4 

include funding sources.  Only authorized players may perform the 5 

functions of a supervisor or player. 6 

(2) (3) “Badge" means a form of identification issued by the 7 

Commission identifying a registrant or licensee.  A badge authorizing 8 

play in a controlled game shall be of a distinctly different color than a 9 

badge that identifies a registrant or licensee, but does not authorize 10 

play. 11 

(3) (4) “Bureau” means the Bureau of Criminal Identification and 12 

Information of the California Department of Justice. 13 

(4) (5) “Commission” means the California Gambling Control 14 

Commission. 15 

(5) (6) “Deadly weapon” means any weapon, the possession or 16 

concealed carrying of which is prohibited by Penal Code section 17 

12020. 18 

(6) (7) “Division” means the Division of Gambling Control in the California 19 

Department of Justice.  Information that this chapter requires to be 20 

sent to the Division shall be submitted in writing to the Sacramento 21 

office of the Division. 22 
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(7) (8) “Executive Director” means the Executive Director of the 1 

Commission or such other person as may be designated by the 2 

Commission. 3 

 4 

(8) (9) “Funding source" means any person that provides financing, 5 

including but not limited to loans, advances, any other form of credit, 6 

chips, or any other representation or thing of value, to an owner- 7 

registrant or owner-licensee, other than individual registrants under 8 

Subsection (d) (c) of Section 12201 or individual licensees.  “Funding 9 

source” does not include any federally or state chartered lending 10 

institution or any of the following entities that in the aggregate owns 11 

at least one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) of securities of 12 

issuers that are not affiliated with the entity: 13 

 14 

(A)  Any federally-regulated or state-regulated bank or savings 15 

association or other federally- or state-regulated lending 16 

institution. 17 

 18 

(B)  Any company that is organized as an insurance company, the 19 

primary and predominant business activity of which is the 20 

writing of insurance or the reinsuring of risks underwritten by 21 

insurance companies, and that is subject to supervision by the 22 

Insurance Commissioner of California, or a similar official or 23 

agency of another state. 24 

 25 

(C)  Any investment company registered under the federal 26 
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Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. sec. 80a-1 et 1 

seq.).  2 

 3 

(D)  Any retirement plan established and maintained by the United 4 

States, an agency or instrumentality thereof, or by a state, its 5 

political subdivisions, or any agency or instrumentality of a 6 

state or its political subdivisions, for the benefit of its 7 

employees. 8 

 9 

(E)  Any employee benefit plan within the meaning of Title I of the 10 

federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (29 11 

U.S.C. sec. 1001 et seq.). 12 

 13 

(F)  Any securities dealer registered pursuant to the federal 14 

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. sec. 78a et seq.).  15 

 16 

(G)  Any entity, all of the equity owners of which individually meet 17 

the criteria of this paragraph (8).  18 

 19 

(9) (10) “Gambling business,” except as otherwise provided in this 20 

paragraph, means a business enterprise that engages the services of 21 

employees, independent contractors, or both to participate in the play 22 

of any controlled game in a gambling establishment that has a rotating 23 

player-dealer position as permitted by Penal Code section 330.11. 24 

“Gambling business” also refers to the conduct of such a business 25 

enterprise in a gambling establishment.  “Gambling business” does 26 
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not, however, include the provision of proposition player services 1 

subject to Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 12200) of this title. 2 

  3 

(10) (11) “Gambling Control Act” or “Act” means Chapter 5 (commencing 4 

with Section 19800) of Division 8 of the Business and Professions 5 

Code. 6 

(12)  “License” means a license issued by the Commission pursuant to  7 

article 3 of this chapter.   8 

(A) There are four license categories entitling the holder to 9 

operate a gambling business:  10 

1. primary owner, 11 

2. Other owner, if issued a playing badge, 12 

3.  supervisor, and  13 

4. Player.   14 

(B) All other employees of the primary owner who are 15 

present in the gambling establishment during the conduct of the 16 

gambling business shall be licensed as “other employee” and 17 

shall be required to submit an application and be approved or 18 

denied based upon the same criteria that apply to a player.   19 

 20 

 (13) “Licensee” means a person having a valid license. 21 

 22 

(14) "Organization chart" means a chart that identifies the names and titles 23 

of all owners, as defined in section 12220, supervisors, and any 24 

persons having significant influence over the operation of gambling 25 

business; the percentage of ownership, if any, held by each identified 26 
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individual or entity; and the reporting relationship for each identified 1 

individual or entity.   2 

(11) (15) “Owner” includes all of the following: 3 

(A) A sole proprietor, corporation, partnership, or other business 4 

entity that provides or proposes to conduct a gambling business.   5 

(B) Any individual specified in subsection (d) of Section 12221, 6 

and  7 

(C) Any funding source. 8 

(16) “Player” means an individual employed by or an independent 9 

contractor engaged by a gambling business to participate in the play 10 

of any controlled game in a gambling establishment. 11 

(17) “Playing Book" means a record documenting each session of play by 12 

an individual player. 13 

(12) (18) “Primary Owner” means the owner specified in subparagraph (A) 14 

of paragraph (11) (15) of this subsection. 15 

(19) “Rebate” means a partial return by an authorized player of chips or 16 

money to a patron who has lost the chips or money to the authorized 17 

player through play in a controlled game at a gambling establishment. 18 

(13) (20) "Registrant” means a person having a valid registration.  19 

(14) (21) “Registration” means a registration issued by the Commission 20 

pursuant to this chapter.  There are four registration categories 21 
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entitling the holder to participate in the operation of a gambling 1 

business: primary owner, owner, supervisor, and player.  All other 2 

employees of the primary owner who are present in the gambling 3 

establishment during the operation of the gambling business shall be 4 

registered as “other employee.”  A primary owner issued a playing 5 

badge and an owner issued a playing badge may also perform the 6 

functions of a supervisor or player, and the holder of a supervisor’s 7 

registration or license may also perform the functions of a player.  No 8 

registrant, other than an owner issued a playing badge, supervisor, or 9 

player, may possess, direct, or otherwise control currency, chips, or 10 

other wagering instruments used for play as part of the operation of a 11 

gambling business.  An individual registered or licensed as an “other 12 

employee” may not function as a player unless and until that 13 

individual applies for and obtains a registration or a license as player. 14 

(22) “Session of play” as used in Section 12220.13 (“Playing Book”) 15 

means a continuous work shift performed by a player. 16 

(23) “Supervisor” means an individual who, in addition to any 17 

supervisorial responsibilities, has authority, on behalf of the primary 18 

owner, to provide or direct the distribution of currency, chips, or other 19 

wagering instruments to affiliated registrants or licensees who are 20 

authorized to play. 21 

(24) “Supplemental information package” means all of the documentation 22 

and deposits required by each of the following forms (which are 23 

hereby incorporated by reference) to be submitted to the Commission 24 
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in response to a summons issued by the Division pursuant to Section 1 

12220.25: 2 

(A) Owners, as defined in Section 12220(b), that are a natural 3 

person shall complete the form Level III Supplemental 4 

Information-Individual  (DGC-APP. 034A, New 08/04) for a 5 

level III investigation. 6 

(B) Owners, as defined in Section 12220(b), that are not a natural 7 

person shall complete the form Level III Supplemental 8 

Information-Business (DGC-APP. 034B, New 08/04) for a 9 

level III investigation. 10 

(C) Supervisors, as defined in Section 12220(b) shall compete the 11 

form Level II Supplemental Information (DGC-APP. 033, New 12 

08/04) for a level II investigation. 13 

(D) Other employees, independent contractors, and players shall 14 

complete the form Level I Supplemental Information  (DGC-15 

APP. 032, New 08/04) for a level I investigation. 16 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 17 

Code 18 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 19 

 20 

Section 12220.1  Certificate 21 

(a) The Commission shall issue a registration or license certificate, as 22 

applicable, to each primary owner.   23 
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(b) The Commission shall endorse upon each certificate the names of all other 1 

owners affiliated with the primary owner. 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 3 

Code 4 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Section 12220.3  Badge 7 

(a) All individuals registered or licensed as primary owners, owners, 8 

supervisors, players, or other employees of the primary owner shall wear in 9 

a prominently visible location a numbered badge issued by the Commission 10 

when present in a gambling establishment during the operation of the 11 

gambling business.   If an individual ceases to be employed by or affiliated 12 

with a particular primary owner, that individual shall surrender his or her 13 

badge to the primary owner.   The primary owner shall notify the 14 

Commission and the Division in writing within 10 days of the change in 15 

status using Change in Status Form for a Gambling Business Registration 16 

(CGCC-541, New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  Any 17 

primary owner receiving a badge from an individual formerly employed by 18 

or affiliated with the primary owner shall return the badge to the 19 

Commission within 10 days of receiving the badge from the holder. 20 

(b) The words “GAMBLING BUSINESS PLAYER REGISTRANT,”  “NON-21 

PLAYER GAMBLING BUSINESS REGISTRANT,” “GAMBLING 22 

BUSINESS PLAYER LICENSEE,” or “NON-PLAYER GAMBLING 23 

BUSINESS LICENSEE” in capital letters shall be prominently displayed on 24 
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the front of the badge.  The first name of the registrant or licensee shall 1 

appear on the front of the badge.  The full name of the registrant or licensee 2 

shall be printed on the reverse side of the badge, together with the 3 

registrant’s or licensee’s category of registration or licensing as an owner, 4 

supervisor, player, or other employee. 5 

(c) On the badge, there shall be displayed the picture of the registrant or 6 

licensee submitted with the application, the badge number, and expiration 7 

date.  On the badge there shall be displayed the name of the primary owner 8 

employing the registrant or licensee, which shall be the fictitious business 9 

name, if any, established pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 10 

17900) of Part 3 of Division 7 of the Business and Professions Code.   11 

(d) Upon renewal of each registration and upon issuance of each registration or 12 

license, authorized players shall be issued a badge of one color; individuals 13 

not authorized to play shall be issued a badge of a distinctly different color.  14 

 (e) An individual registered or licensed as a player with a particular primary 15 

owner shall apply for and obtain a new badge before beginning to work for 16 

an additional primary owner.  17 

(f)  Registration, licenses, and badges are specific to the primary owner.  A 18 

gambling business cannot be operated without first applying for and 19 

obtaining a registration, license, or badge. 20 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 21 

Code 22 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 23 

 24 
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Section 12220.5 Replacement of Badge 1 

 2 

(a) Upon application, the Executive Director shall issue a replacement badge if 3 

all of the following conditions are met: 4 

(1) The applicant has a current valid registration or license. 5 

(2) The application is complete and has been submitted on the form 6 

Request for Replacement Gambling Business Badge (CGCC-538, 7 

New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 8 

(3) The applicant has supplied all of the following to the 9 

Commission: 10 

(A) A two by two inch color passport-style photograph taken 11 

no more than one year before submission to the 12 

Commission of the badge replacement or transfer request.  13 

(B) A nonrefundable $25.00 fee payable to the Commission. 14 

(C) The category of the position and information concerning the 15 

primary owner for which the replacement badge is requested: 16 

the name of the primary owner, mailing address, voice 17 

telephone number, facsimile number (if any), and email address 18 

(if any). 19 

(D) A statement under penalty of perjury that a replacement badge 20 

is needed due to loss or destruction of the originally issued 21 

badge. 22 

(b) A replacement badge issued pursuant to this section shall be valid during the 23 

unexpired term of the previously issued registration or license. 24 

(c) Upon issuance of the replacement badge, the previously issued badge for 25 

that gambling business shall become void and shall not be used.  26 
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(d) Replacement badges shall be issued by the Commission within seven days of 1 

receipt of a complete application. 2 

Authority: Sections 19811, 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and 3 

Professions Code 4 

Reference: Section and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Section 12220.6  Transfer of Player Registration or License 7 

 8 

(a) Upon application, the Executive Director shall issue a player transfer badge 9 

if all of the following conditions are met: 10 

(1) The applicant has a currently valid registration or license. 11 

(2) The application is complete and has been submitted on the form 12 

Request for Transfer of Gambling Business Registration/License 13 

(CGCC-539, New 06/04), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 14 

(3) The applicant has supplied all of the following to the 15 

Commission: 16 

(A) A two by two inch color passport-style photograph taken 17 

no more than one year before submission to the Commission of 18 

the badge transfer request.  19 

(B) A nonrefundable $125.00 fee payable to the Commission. 20 

(C) The names of the current and future primary owner, mailing 21 

address, voice telephone number, facsimile number (if any), 22 

and email address (if any). 23 

 (b) A transfer badge issued pursuant to this section shall be valid during the 24 

unexpired term of the previously issued registration or license. 25 
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(c) Upon issuance of the transfer badge, the previously issued badge shall 1 

become void and shall not be used.  2 

(d) Transfer badges shall be issued by the Commission within seven days of 3 

receipt of a complete application. 4 

Authority: Sections 19811, 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and 5 

Professions Code 6 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 7 

 8 

Section 12220.13 Playing Book 9 

(a) The primary owner shall be responsible for assuring that its players maintain 10 

accurate, complete, and up-to-date playing books for all sessions of play 11 

worked in conformity with regulations of the Commission.  The information 12 

in the playing-book record shall be transferred to the primary owner, or a 13 

supervisor designated by the primary owner at the end of each session of 14 

play.  The primary owner shall maintain this information in English at a 15 

single location in the State of California, and shall maintain the original 16 

playing book records in the State of California, for at least five years.  The 17 

location or locations where the records of this information and the original 18 

playing book records are maintained, and any change therein, shall be 19 

disclosed to the Commission and Division by written notice mailed or 20 

delivered within five business days after establishing or changing such a 21 

location. 22 

(b) Playing books shall be prepared and maintained as follows: 23 
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 (1) Playing book forms shall be reviewed and approved or disapproved by 1 

the Division. 2 

(2) Each form in the playing book shall be recorded in ink and include, 3 

but not be limited to, the following information: 4 

(A) Sequential numbers.  Any unused form shall be voided and 5 

maintained in the playing book. 6 

(B) Specify the name of the gambling establishment where play 7 

occurred. 8 

(C) The date when play occurred.  9 

(D) Beginning and ending balances.  10 

(E) All fills and credits affecting the balance shall be individually 11 

identified. 12 

(F) The printed full name and badge number of the player, which 13 

includes owners, supervisors, and/or players. 14 

(G) The table number assigned by the gambling establishment. 15 

(H) The specific name of the Division-approved gaming activity. 16 

(I) The name of the primary owner. 17 

(3) The form for each session of play shall be time-stamped, dated, and 18 

signed under penalty of perjury by the person who prepared it and 19 

shall include a declaration in the following form: “I declare under 20 
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penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the 1 

foregoing is true and correct.” 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 3 

Code 4 

Reference: Sections 19805 and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Section 12220.14.  Organization Chart and Employee Report 7 

 8 

(a) No later than September 1, 2004, each registered or licensed primary owner 9 

shall submit a current organization chart and a listing of all employees and 10 

independent contractors to the Division and the Commission.  The listing of 11 

employees shall be submitted on the form Gambling Business Employee and 12 

Independent Contractor Report (CGCC-540, New 06/04), which is hereby 13 

incorporated by reference. 14 

(b) Upon renewal of the registration or license and six months thereafter, each 15 

registered or licensed primary owner shall submit an updated organization 16 

chart and a listing of all employees to the Division and the Commission. 17 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 18 

Code 19 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 20 

 21 

Section 12220.15  Transfers and Sales 22 

(a) No individual who is an owner shall in any manner transfer any interest in 23 

the proposition player services operation to any person, firm, or corporation 24 
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until the proposed transferee or transferees have made application for and 1 

obtained registration or licensing as an owner from the Commission.   2 

Applications for a transfer of the interest shall be made by the transferee 3 

applying for registration or licensing under this regulation.  Evidence of the 4 

transferor's agreement to transfer the interest shall accompany the 5 

application for registration or licensing.  6 

(b) If applicable, the proposed articles of incorporation and sales and transfer 7 

agreement shall be submitted to the Commission for approval prior to 8 

submission of any application. 9 

(c) The effective date of the sale shall be at least 90 days after receipt of the 10 

application, or such other shorter time period as shall be set by the Executive 11 

Director with the agreement of the applicant. 12 

(d) The primary owner shall notify the Division and the Commission in writing 13 

within ten days of any change to the organization chart. 14 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 15 

Code 16 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 17 

 18 

Section 12220.16. Inspections and Investigations 19 

(a) When requested by a representative of the Division, a registrant or licensee 20 

shall immediately permit the Division representative, in accordance with the 21 

request, to inspect, copy, or audit all requested documents, papers, books, 22 
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and other records of the registrant or licensee related to the gambling 1 

business.  If the records are maintained in electronic form and the registrant 2 

or licensee is requested to do so, the registrant or licensee shall provide a 3 

printed copy in English pursuant to this section within 24 hours of the 4 

request.   5 

(b) If requested in writing by the Executive Director, the Division shall conduct 6 

an inspection or investigation of a registrant or a licensee.   Within 30 days 7 

of receipt of the request, the Division shall advise the Executive Director in 8 

writing of the status of the inspection or investigation and shall also provide 9 

an estimated date on which the inspection or investigation may reasonably 10 

be expected to be concluded.  Upon completion of the inspection or 11 

investigation, the Division shall provide a final written report to the 12 

Executive Director. 13 

(c) Nothing in this chapter precludes Commission staff from carrying out their 14 

duties under applicable statutes and regulations. 15 

(d) All records required by this chapter shall be maintained in English, in 16 

California, for at least five years. 17 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 18 

Code 19 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 20 

 21 

Section 12220.17 Emergency Orders 22 
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Registrants and licensees under this chapter shall be subject to emergency orders 1 

under Business and Professions Code section 19931. 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 3 

Code 4 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Section 12220.18 Revocation 7 

The Commission may revoke a registration or license, upon any of the following 8 

grounds, after a hearing conducted pursuant to the same procedures applicable to 9 

the revocation of a gambling establishment license: 10 

(a)  The registrant or licensee committed, attempted to commit, or conspired to 11 

commit any acts prohibited by the Gambling Control Act or this chapter. 12 

(b)  Any act or omission by the registrant that would disqualify the registrant 13 

from obtaining registration under this chapter.  Any act or omission by the 14 

licensee that would disqualify the licensee from obtaining licensing under 15 

this chapter. 16 

(c)  The registrant or licensee engaged in any dishonest, fraudulent, or unfairly 17 

deceptive activities in connection with controlled gambling, including any 18 

violation of laws related to cheating. 19 

(d)   The registrant or licensee failed or refused to comply with the requirements 20 

of Section 12200.16 (Inspections and Investigations). 21 
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(e) The registrant or licensee failed or refused to comply with the requirements 1 

of Section 12200.14 (Organization Chart and Employee Report). 2 

(f)  The registrant or licensee concealed or refused to disclose any material fact 3 

in any inquiry by the Division or the Commission. 4 

(g)  The registrant or licensee committed, attempted, or conspired to commit any 5 

embezzlement or larceny against a gambling business registrant or licensee 6 

or holder of a state gambling license or upon the premises of a gambling 7 

establishment. 8 

(h)  The registrant or licensee has been lawfully excluded from being present 9 

upon the premises of any licensed gambling establishment for any reason 10 

relating to cheating or any violation of the Gambling Control Act by the 11 

registrant. 12 

(i) The registrant or licensee buys or sells chips other than from the cage or a 13 

house chip cart, except for exchanging with a patron chips of one 14 

denomination for chips of another denomination. 15 

(j) The registrant or licensee lends money or chips to gambling establishment 16 

patrons or proposition players, except for exchanging with a patron chips of 17 

one denomination for chips of another denomination. 18 

(k) Any owner knowingly permitted one or more of the owner’s supervisors or 19 

players to commit any act described in subsections (a) to (j), inclusive. 20 

(l)   Any owner knew, or failed to implement reasonable oversight procedures 21 

that would have apprised the owner, that one or more of the registrants or 22 

licensees was in violation of one or more provisions of this chapter or of the 23 
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Gambling Control Act and failed or refused to take action to prevent the 1 

recurrence of the violation or violations. 2 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 3 

Code 4 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 5 

 6 

Section 12220.20 Annual Fee 7 

(a) No later than September 1 of each year, beginning September 1, 2004, each 8 

registered or licensed primary owner shall submit to the Commission the 9 

annual fee set forth in subsection (c) of this section, based on the total 10 

number of registrations or licenses affiliated with that primary owner on the 11 

immediately preceding August 15.  The payment due September 1, 2004 12 

shall be based on the total number of registrations affiliated with the primary 13 

owner on August 15, 2004. 14 

(b) Within 30 days of approval of any request to convert a registration to a 15 

license, the Commission shall notify the licensee of any additional fees owed 16 

for the term of the license granted, allowing pro rata credit on a monthly 17 

basis for any annual fee paid in connection with a registration that has not 18 

expired. 19 

 20 

(c) The annual fee shall be computed based on the following schedule reflecting 21 

the total number of registrants or licensees affiliated with a particular 22 

primary owner on the date of assessment: 23 

 Category  Number of Registrants  Fee Per Registrant 24 

    or Licensees    or Licensee 25 
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 1 

 A   1—5     $2800 2 

 3 

 B   6--35     $3050 4 

 5 

 C   36--175    $3300 6 

 7 

 D   176—400    $3550 8 

 9 

 E   401--900    $3800 10 

 11 

 F   901--1200    $4050 12 

 13 

 G   1201 or more   $4300 14 

 15 

(d) (1) Upon advance written approval by the Executive Director, installment 16 

payments submitted prior to conversion to licensure shall be permitted as 17 

follows: one-third of the annual fee to be submitted no later than September 18 

1, one-third no later than December 1, and the balance no later than March 1. 19 

(2) Upon advance written approval by the Executive Director, installment 20 

payments submitted after conversion to licensure shall be permitted as 21 

follows: one-third of the annual fee to be submitted prior to issuance 22 

of the license, one-third to be submitted three months thereafter, and 23 

one-third to be submitted six months thereafter. 24 
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(e) Refunds shall not be available in the event of a subsequent decrease in the 1 

number of registrants or licensees upon which the annual fee payment was 2 

based. 3 

(f) Following assessment of the annual fee, if the primary owner increases the 4 

number of its registrants or licensees above the number upon which the 5 

annual fee assessment was based, the primary owner shall submit to the 6 

Commission the additional per player fee set forth in subsection (c) of this 7 

section.  No new badges will be issued until the additional per player fee has 8 

been received by the Commission. 9 

(g) No renewal application shall be accepted by the Commission until any 10 

delinquent annual fees have been paid in full.  11 

Authority: Sections 19801, 19811, 19823, 19824, 19840, 19841, and 12 

19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 13 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 14 

 15 

Section 12220.21 Compliance  16 

(a) Registrants and licensees shall comply with game rules approved by the 17 

Division, including but not limited to, the rules regarding player-dealer 18 

rotation and table wagering.  No registrant or licensee shall be accorded any 19 

preference by the house over other players.   20 

(b) Only an authorized player may possess, direct, or otherwise control 21 

currency, chips, or other wagering instruments used for play in the operation 22 

of the gambling business. 23 
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Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 1 

Code 2 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 3 

 4 

Section 12220.23 Exclusion 5 

(a) In order to promote the purposes of the Gambling Control Act to provide for 6 

effective regulation of gambling enterprises, owner-licensees of gambling 7 

establishments shall notify the Commission and Division of, and may 8 

exclude from the gambling establishment, any person that the owner-9 

licensee reasonably believes is conducting a gambling business within the 10 

gambling establishment without having been registered under this chapter.  11 

An owner-licensee acting under this section shall notify the Commission and 12 

Division in writing of any such unregistered person and any such exclusion, 13 

including the identity of the excluded individuals and entity if known, within 14 

10 business days following the exclusion.  Upon receiving such notice of an 15 

unregistered person, the Commission shall notify the person in writing of the 16 

registration requirement of this chapter and shall notify all owner-licensees 17 

of the name of the unregistered person, if known and may condition any 18 

subsequent registration of the person under this chapter or Chapter 2.1 of 19 

this title upon a 60 to 90 day suspension of registration or payment of a civil 20 

penalty under Business and Professions Code section 19930(c), or both.   21 

(b) An owner-licensee of a gambling establishment may exclude any registered 22 

or licensed gambling business upon providing notification to the 23 

Commission and Division in writing within five days following the 24 

exclusion. 25 
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Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 1 

Code 2 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3) and 19931, Business and Professions Code 3 
 4 

 5 

Article 2.  Registration 6 

Section 12220.25  Transition to Licensing 7 

(a) The Division shall summon persons registered as primary owners, owners, 8 

supervisors, players, and other employees for the purpose of applying for 9 

licenses under this chapter.  The Division shall summon primary owners, 10 

owners, supervisors, players, and other employees as expeditiously as 11 

possible in light of available program resources.  The registration of any 12 

registrant that fails or refuses to submit a Request for Conversion of a 13 

Gambling Business Registration to a License (CGCC-537, New 06/04))(see 14 

section 12233(c) including any fees to the Commission within 30 days of 15 

receiving a summons from the Division shall expire by operation of law on 16 

the following day.  Prior to and during review of a request to convert a 17 

registration to a license, a registration shall remain valid and may be 18 

renewed by the registrant as necessary, upon application and approval of 19 

renewal of registration.  20 

(b) If the registration expires by operation of law, the former registrant shall 21 

submit a new request to convert a registration to a license and a new 22 

nonrefundable application fee. 23 

(c) The transition from registration to licensing for applications approved prior 24 

to April 30, 2004, shall be completed no later than July 1, 2007.   25 
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(d) A request to convert a registration to a license shall require only payment of 1 

a sum of money that, in the judgment of the Director of the Division, will be 2 

adequate to pay the antic ipated investigation and processing costs, in 3 

accordance with Business and Professions Code section 19867. 4 

(e) If a license is issued, it will expire as provided in Section 12237 (Term of 5 

License). 6 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 7 

Code 8 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 9 

 10 

Section 12221. Registration  11 

(a)  On and after March 5, 2004, no person may engage in a gambling business 12 

as an owner or as an employee or independent contractor of an owner, nor 13 

may any person obtain a badge as required by Section 12226 12220.3  14 

without a current valid registration issued by the Commission.  Persons 15 

registered to provide proposition player services under Chapter 2 16 

(commencing with Section 12200) of this title are not required to register 17 

under this chapter to provide proposition player services pursuant to one or 18 

more proposition player contracts approved by the Division pursuant to 19 

Section 12208 12200.9 of this title.   20 

(b)  Registration shall be issued for a period of one year.   21 

(c) Registration under this Article or its predecessor shall not create any vested 22 

right licensing under Article 3 of this chapter or any successor provision. 23 
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(c)(d) If a primary owner is a corporation, partnership, or other business entity, 1 

each owner and individual having a relationship to that entity specified in 2 

Business and Professions Code section 19852, subdivisions (a) to (h), 3 

inclusive, shall individually apply for and obtain registration as an owner 4 

listed on the business entity’s registration certificate.   5 

 (d)(e) Any application for registration of any person, other than as the primary 6 

owner, shall designate the primary owner or owners that will employ the 7 

applicant or with whom the applicant otherwise will be affiliated. The 8 

registration certificate issued to any person, other than the primary owner, 9 

shall specify the name of the registered primary owner that employs the 10 

applicant or with whom the applicant is otherwise affiliated. 11 

(f) If the application is for registration as a supervisor, player, or other 12 

employee, the primary owner that will employ the applicant shall be 13 

currently registered under this chapter. 14 

 15 

Authority:  Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 16 

Code  17 

 18 

Reference:   Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 19 

 20 

Section 12222. Application for Registration 21 

(a)  The application for registration shall designate whether registration is 22 

requested as a primary owner, other owner, or employee or independent 23 

contractor of the primary owner.  The application shall be signed by the 24 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 114   

 

individual applicant and the designated agent, or, if the applicant is a 1 

business entity, by the chief executive officer or other designated officer of 2 

the business entity. 3 

(b)   An application for registration shall include all of the following: 4 

(1) Payment of a nonrefundable application fee in the amount of five 5 

hundred dollars ($500). 6 

(2)   A completed Application for Gambling Business Registration 7 

(CGCC-037, rev. 02/04) (CGCC-535, Rev. 06/04),which is hereby 8 

incorporated by reference. 9 

(3) A properly completed Request for Live Scan Service (California 10 

Department of Justice Form BCII 8016, rev. 4/01) of an applicant that 11 

is an individual, confirming that the applicant’s fingerprints have been 12 

submitted to the Bureau for an automated background check and 13 

response.  14 

 (4) Two (2) two-by-two inch color passport-style photographs of an 15 

applicant that is an individual taken no more than one year before 16 

submission of the application to the Commission. 17 

(c)  An applicant shall submit such supplemental information as may be required 18 

by the Commission form Gambling Business Registration Supplemental 19 

Information (CGCC-038, rev. 02/04) (CGCC-536, Rev. 06/04), which is 20 

hereby incorporated by reference, or by the Division as necessary for 21 

completion of its review as provided in this chapter.   22 
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(d) An applicant for registration shall make full and true disclosure of all 1 

information to the Commission and Division as required for the application 2 

and as requested by the Commission or Division to carry out the policies of 3 

this state relating to controlled gambling.   4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 5 

Code 6 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3) and 19951(a), Business and Professions Code 7 

Section 12223. Processing of Applications 8 

(a) The Executive Director shall notify the applicant in writing within fifteen 9 

business ten days of receiving the application, that the application or 10 

resubmitted application is complete and accepted for filing, or that the 11 

application or resubmitted application is deficient.  If an application for 12 

registration is incomplete, the Executive Director shall request in writing any 13 

information needed in order to complete the application.  The applicant shall 14 

be permitted at least 60 but no more than 90 days in which to furnish the 15 

information.  If the applicant fails to respond to the request, the application 16 

shall be deemed abandoned and no further action will be taken on it. 17 

(b) Upon determination that an application for registration is complete, the 18 

application shall be processed within 60 30 days and the Executive Director 19 

shall either issue the registration and, if applicable, the badge applied for or 20 

shall notify the applicant of denial and the grounds therefor under Section 21 

12224.  However, this time may be extended by the Executive Director for 22 

no more than 30 additional days if necessary to obtain information required 23 
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to determine eligibility.  The Executive Director shall promptly notify the 1 

applicant in writing of any such delay, including the length of the extension. 2 

(c)  If the applicant submits a request for withdrawal of his or her application to 3 

the Commission, the application shall be deemed abandoned and no further 4 

action will be taken on it.   5 

(d) The Commission shall provide written notice of abandonment of an 6 

application to the applicant and the Division.  If the application is for 7 

registration as other than the primary owner, the Commission shall also 8 

provide written notice of abandonment of the application to the primary 9 

owner.  10 

(e) Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 11 

to the applicant any confidential information received from any law 12 

enforcement agency or any information received from any person with 13 

assurances that the information would be maintained as confidential, and 14 

nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 15 

any information that might reveal the identity of any source of information 16 

or jeopardize the safety of any person.  17 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 18 

Code 19 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 20 

 21 

Section 12224. Ineligibility for Registration 22 
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 An applicant shall be ineligible for registration for any of the following causes: 1 

(a) Except for an individual seeking registration as “other employee,” an 2 

individual applicant is under the age of 21. 3 

(b) The applicant has been convicted of any felony, including a conviction in a 4 

court of the United States or any other state of an offense that is classified as 5 

a felony by the laws of this state.  6 

(b)(c) The applicant has, within the ten year period immediately preceding the 7 

submission of the application, been convicted of a misdemeanor involving a 8 

firearm or other deadly weapon, gaming or gaming-related activities 9 

prohibited by Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 319) or Chapter 10 10 

(commencing with section 330) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the Penal Code, 11 

violations of the Gambling Control Act, or dishonesty or moral turpitude, 12 

not including convictions which have been expunged or dismissed as 13 

provided by law.  14 

(c)(d) The applicant has been subject to a final administrative or judicial 15 

adjudication revoking a registration under this chapter or a state gambling 16 

license, key employee license, work permit or finding of suitability or has 17 

had an application denied under this chapter or the Gambling Control Act.   18 

(d)(e) The applicant would be ineligible for a state gambling license under any of 19 

the criteria set forth in Business and Professions Code section 19859, 20 

subdivisions (b), (e), or (f), or (g), the terms of which are incorporated by 21 

reference and hereby expressly made applicable to applications for 22 

registration under this chapter.   23 
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(e)(f) The applicant would be ineligible for a state gambling license under 1 

Business and Professions Code section 19858, the terms of which are 2 

incorporated by reference and hereby expressly made applicable to 3 

applications for registration under this chapter.  4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 5 

Code 6 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 7 

Section 12225.  Cancellation of Registration 8 

(a) Any registration issued in accordance with this chapter shall be subject to 9 

cancellation pursuant to this section.  A registration shall be cancelled if the 10 

Commission determines upon a noticed hearing that the registrant is 11 

ineligible for registration, has failed in the application for registration to 12 

reveal any fact material to the holder’s qualification for registration, or has 13 

supplied information in the registration application that is untrue or 14 

misleading as to a material fact pertaining to the criteria for issuance of 15 

registration. 16 

(b) If the Commission finds that any of the circumstances set forth in subsection 17 

(a) apply, then the Executive Director shall immediately do all of the 18 

following: 19 

(1) Provide written notice to the registrant and the Division of the 20 

cancellation of the registration and the grounds thereof, and provide 21 

written notice of the cancellation to the primary owner, if the 22 

registrant is not the primary owner and to all gambling establishments. 23 
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 (2) Notify the registrant, if an individual, that he or she is required to 1 

surrender the registrant’s badge to the Commission not more than ten 2 

days following the date that the notice of the cancellation was mailed 3 

or such greater time as is authorized by the Executive Director. 4 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 5 

Code. 6 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 7 

 Section 12226. Badge  8 

All individuals registered under this chapter shall wear in a prominently visible 9 

location a numbered badge issued by the Commission when present in a gambling 10 

establishment during the conduct of the registrant’s gambling business. The words 11 

“GAMBLING BUSINESS REGISTRANT” in capital letters shall be prominently 12 

displayed on the badge above the picture of the registrant submitted with the 13 

application and the badge number, registrant’s first name, and expiration date.  The 14 

registrant’s full name shall be printed on the reverse side of the badge.  15 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 16 

Code 17 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 18 

Section 12227.  Transfers and Sales  19 

No individual who is an owner shall in any manner transfer any interest in the 20 

gambling business to any person, firm, or corporation not then an owner of an 21 

interest therein, and such a transfer shall not become effective for any purpose, 22 
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until the proposed transferee or transferees have made application for and obtained 1 

registration as an owner from the Commission.   Applications for a transfer of the 2 

interest shall be made by the transferee applying for registration under this 3 

regulation.  Evidence of the transferor's agreement to transfer the interest shall 4 

accompany the application for registration.  5 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 6 

Code 7 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 8 

 9 

Section 12228. Inspections 10 

When requested by a representative of the Commission or Division, a registrant 11 

shall immediately permit the Commission or Division representative, in 12 

accordance with the request, to inspect, copy, or audit all requested documents, 13 

papers, books, and other records of the registrant related to the gambling business.  14 

If the records are maintained in electronic form and the registrant is requested to do 15 

so, the registrant shall provide a printed copy pursuant to this section.   16 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 17 

Code 18 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 19 

Section 12229.  Compliance  20 
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(a) Each primary owner shall remit such fees to defray the costs of compliance 1 

review and enforcement in the field as may be required by regulation of the 2 

Division. 3 

(b) No more than one registrant of a single gambling business shall 4 

simultaneously play at a table. 5 

(c) Registrants shall comply with game rules approved by the Division 6 

regarding player-dealer rotation and table wagering.  No registrant shall be 7 

accorded any preference by the house over any other player.  For purposes 8 

of this subsection, “preference” means and is limited to both of the 9 

following if sanctioned by house rule or otherwise directed by the house 10 

or its employees: 11 

(1)  Any priority in the continuous and systematic rotation of the deal, 12 

as required by Penal Code section 330.11, such that a registrant 13 

becomes entitled by reason of the priority to occupy the player-14 

dealer position more often than other players.   15 

(2) Any advantage to the registrant over other players in the placement of 16 

wagers. 17 

(d) No gambling business in which the house has any financial interest may play 18 

in the house.   19 

(e) No registrant may play in any a gambling establishment for which the 20 

registrant holds a state gambling license, key employee license, or work 21 

permit. 22 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 23 

Code 24 
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Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 1 

Section 12230. Revocation 2 

The Commission may revoke a registration upon any of the following grounds, 3 

after a hearing conducted pursuant to the same procedures applicable to revocation 4 

of gambling establishment licenses: 5 

(a)  The registrant committed, attempted to commit, or conspired to commit any 6 

acts prohibited by the Gambling Control Act or this chapter. 7 

(b)  Any act or omission by the registrant that would disqualify the registrant 8 

from obtaining registration under this chapter. 9 

(c)  The registrant engaged in any dishonest, fraudulent, or unfairly deceptive 10 

activities in connection with controlled gambling, including any violation of 11 

laws related to cheating. 12 

(d)   The registrant failed or refused to comply with the requirements of Section 13 

12228.  14 

(e)  The registrant concealed or refused to disclose any material fact in any 15 

inquiry by the Division or the Commission. 16 

(f)  The registrant committed, attempted, or conspired to commit any 17 

embezzlement or larceny against a gambling licensee or upon the premises 18 

of a gambling establishment. 19 

(g)  The registrant has been lawfully excluded from being present upon the 20 

premises of any licensed gambling establishment for any reason relating to 21 

cheating or any violation of the Gambling Control Act by the registrant. 22 
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(h)   The primary owner or any other owner knowingly permitted one or more of 1 

the employees or independent contractors of the gambling business to 2 

commit any act described in subsections (a) to (f), inclusive. 3 

(i)   The primary owner or any other owner knew, or failed to implement 4 

reasonable oversight procedures that would have apprised the owner, that 5 

one or more of the employees or independent contractors of the gambling 6 

business was in violation of one or more provisions of this chapter or of the 7 

Gambling Control Act and failed or refused to take action to prevent the 8 

recurrence of the violation or violations.  9 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 10 

Code 11 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 12 

 Section 12231. Emergency Orders 13 

Registrants under this chapter shall be subject to emergency orders under Business 14 

and Professions Code section 19931.  15 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 16 

Code 17 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3) and 19931, Business and Professions Code 18 

Section 12232.  Exclusion 19 

(a) In order to promote the purposes of the Gambling Control Act to provide for 20 

effective regulation of gambling enterprises, owner-licensees of gambling 21 
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establishments shall notify the Commission and Division of, and may 1 

exclude from the gambling establishment, any person that the owner-2 

licensee reasonably believes is conducting a gambling business within the 3 

gambling establishment without having been registered under this chapter.  4 

An owner-licensee acting under this section shall notify the Commission and 5 

Division in writing of any such unregistered person and any such exclusion, 6 

including the identity of the excluded individuals and entity if known, within 7 

10 business days following the exclusion.  Upon receiving such notice of an 8 

unregistered person, the Commission shall notify the person in writing of the 9 

registration requirement of this chapter and shall notify all owner-licensees 10 

of the name of the unregistered person, if known and may condition any 11 

subsequent registration of the person under this chapter or Chapter 2.1 of 12 

this title upon a 60 to 90 day suspension of registration or payment of a civil 13 

fine penalty under Business and Professions Code section 19930(c), or both.   14 

(b) An owner-licensee of a gambling establishment may exclude any registered 15 

gambling business upon providing notification to the Commission and 16 

Division in writing within five days following the exclusion. 17 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 18 

Code 19 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3) and 19931, Business and Professions Code 20 

 21 

ARTICLE 3. LICENSING 22 

 23 

Section 12233. Request to Convert Registration to License 24 
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(a) A request to convert a registration to a license shall be submitted only in 1 

response to a written summons from the Division to a primary owner 2 

pursuant to Section 12220.25.   Each primary owner’s request shall be 3 

accompanied by the requests of all affiliated owners, supervisors, players, 4 

and other employees. 5 

(b)  The request to convert a registration to a license shall designate whether the 6 

license is requested as a primary owner, other owner, supervisor, player, or 7 

other employee.  The request shall be signed by the individual requester or, 8 

if the requester is a business entity, by the chief executive officer or other 9 

designated officer of the business entity. 10 

(c)   The request to convert a registration to a license shall include all of the 11 

following: 12 

(1)   A completed Request for Conversion of a Gambling Business 13 

Registration to a License (CGCC-537, New 06/04), which is hereby 14 

incorporated by reference. 15 

(2) Two (2) two-by-two inch color passport-style photographs of a 16 

requester that is an individual taken no more than one year                                                          17 

before submission of the request to the Commission. 18 

 (3) The supplemental information package. 19 

(4) A sum of money that, in the judgment of the Director of the Division, 20 

will be adequate to pay the anticipated investigation and processing 21 

costs, in accordance with Business and Professions Code section 22 

19867. 23 
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(d) Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 1 

to the requester any confidential information received from any law 2 

enforcement agency or any information received from any person with 3 

assurances that the information would be maintained as confidential.  4 

Nothing in this chapter shall require the Commission or Division to divulge 5 

any information that might reveal the identity of any source of information 6 

or jeopardize the safety of any person. 7 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 8 

Code 9 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 10 

 11 

Section 12234 Withdrawal of Request to Convert 12 

Registration to License 13 

 14 

(a) A request for withdrawal of a request to convert a registration to a license 15 

may be made at any time prior to final action upon the request by the 16 

Director by the filing of a written request to withdraw with the Commission. 17 

For the purposes of this section, final action by the Division means a final 18 

determination by the Director regarding his or her recommendation on the 19 

request to the Commission.   20 

(b) The Commission shall not grant the request unless the requester has 21 

established that withdrawal of the request would be consistent with the 22 

public interest and the policies of the Gambling Control Act and this chapter.  23 

If a request for withdrawal is denied, the Division may go forward with its 24 

investigation and make a recommendation to the Commission upon the 25 
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request, and the Commission may act upon the request to convert as if no 1 

request for withdrawal had been made.  2 

(c) If a request for withdrawal is granted with prejudice, the requester thereafter 3 

shall be ineligible to renew its request until the expiration of one year from 4 

the date of the withdrawal.  Unless the Commission otherwise directs, no 5 

payment relating to any request is refundable by reason of withdrawal of 6 

request. 7 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 8 

Code 9 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3) and 19869, Business and Professions Code 10 

 11 

Section 12235 Processing Times--Request to Convert 12 

Registration to License 13 

 14 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a request to convert a registration to 15 

license submitted pursuant to this chapter shall be processed within the 16 

following timeframes: 17 

 18 

(1) The maximum time within which the Commission shall notify the 19 

applicant in writing that a request or a resubmitted request is complete 20 

and accepted for initial processing by the Commission, or that a 21 

request or a resubmitted requested is deficient and identifying what 22 

specific additional information is required, is 20 days after receipt of 23 

the request.  For the purposes of this section, “request” means the 24 

form Request for Conversion of a Gambling Business Registration to 25 

a License (CGCC-537, New 06/04), which was incorporated by 26 



 
 

 
15-day Change to Proposed Permanent Proposition Player Regulation 
Wednesday, August 25, 2004, page 128   

 

reference in Section 12233.  A request is not complete unless 1 

accompanied by (1) a copy of the summons from the Division setting 2 

a deadline for filing the request with the Commission and (2) the 3 

supplemental information package required by section 12233(c)(3) for 4 

review by the Division pursuant to paragraph (3) of this subsection for 5 

persons affiliated with the primary owner to whom the summons was 6 

addressed.  The supplemental information shall not be reviewed for 7 

completeness by the Commission. 8 

  9 

(2) A request and the supplemental information package shall be 10 

forwarded by the Commission to the Division for processing within 11 

10 days of the date that the Commission determines that the request is 12 

complete. 13 

 14 

(3) The Division shall review the supplemental information package 15 

submitted for completeness and notify the applicant of any 16 

deficiencies in the supplemental information package, or that the 17 

supplemental information package is complete, within 45 days of the 18 

date that the request and supplemental information package are 19 

received by the Division from the Commission.  Notwithstanding this 20 

subsection, subsequent to acceptance of the supplemental information 21 

package as complete, the Division may, pursuant to Business and 22 

Professions Code section 19866, require the requester to submit 23 

additional information. 24 

(4) Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 19868, the 25 

Division shall, to the extent practicable, submit its recommendation to 26 
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the Commission within 180 days after the date the Division is in 1 

receipt of both the completed request pursuant to paragraph (2) of this 2 

subsection and the completed supplemental information package 3 

pursuant to paragraph (3) of this subsection.  If the Division has not 4 

concluded its investigation within 180 days, then it shall inform the 5 

applicant and the Commission in writing of the status of the 6 

investigation and shall also provide the applicant and the Commission 7 

with an estimated date on which the investigation may reasonably be 8 

expected to be concluded. 9 

  10 

(5) The Commission shall grant or deny the request within 120 days after 11 

receipt of the final written recommendation of the Division 12 

concerning the request, except that the Commission may notify the 13 

applicant in writing that additional time, not to exceed 30 days, is 14 

needed. 15 

 16 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 17 

Code 18 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 19 

 20 

Section 12236  Ineligibility for Licensing  21 

A requester shall be ineligible for licensing for any of the following causes: 22 

(a) Except for an individual seeking licensing as “other employee,” an 23 

individual applicant is under the age of 21.  24 
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(b) The requester has been convicted of any felony, including a conviction in a 1 

court of the United States or any other state of an offense that is classified as 2 

a felony by the laws of this state.  3 

(c) The requester has, within the ten year period immediately preceding the 4 

submission of the request to convert, been convicted of a misdemeanor 5 

involving a firearm or other deadly weapon, gaming or gaming-related 6 

activities prohibited by Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 319) or 7 

Chapter 10 (commencing with section 330) of Title 9 of Part 1 of the Penal 8 

Code, violations of the Gambling Control Act, or dishonesty or moral 9 

turpitude.  10 

(d) If the request to convert is for licensing as an owner, supervisor, or player, 11 

the requester has been subject to a final administrative or judicial 12 

adjudication revoking a registration or license under this chapter or a state 13 

gambling license, key employee license, work permit or finding of 14 

suitability or has had an application denied under this chapter or the 15 

Gambling Control Act.   16 

(e) The requester would be ineligible for a state gambling license under any of 17 

the criteria set forth in Business and Professions Code section 19859, 18 

subdivisions (b), (e), or (f), the terms of which are incorporated by reference 19 

and hereby expressly made applicable to requests to convert under this 20 

chapter.   21 

(f) The requester would be ineligible for a state gambling license under 22 

Business and Professions Code section 19858, the terms of which are 23 
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incorporated by reference and hereby expressly made applicable to 1 

applications for registration under this chapter.  2 

(g) The applicant is ineligible based on any other provision of law. 3 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 4 

Code 5 

Reference: Sections 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 6 

Section 12237 Term of License 7 

All initial licenses shall be issued for a period of two years.   Due to nonrecurring 8 

workload problems associated with the processing of the first round of requests to 9 

convert registrations to licenses, all other initial licenses that are granted within 10 

three years of the effective date of these regulations shall be issued for a period of 11 

two years.  Beginning July 1, 2007, all licenses other than player licenses shall be 12 

issued for a period of one year, except as otherwise provided by a subsequently 13 

adopted regulation of the Commission. 14 

 15 

Authority: Sections 19840, 19841, and 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions 16 

Code 17 

Reference: Section 19853(a)(3), Business and Professions Code 18 

 19 

 20 

 21 

 22 


