

## GAMBLING CONTROL COMMISSION

Arnold Schwarzenegger, Governor

DEAN SHELTON, CHAIRMAN
JOHN CRUZ
STEPHANIE SHIMAZU
ALEXANDRA VUKSICH

2399 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 100 Sacramento, CA 95833-4231

(916) 263-0700 (916) 263-0499 FAX

May 8, 2007

Honorable Denise Ducheny, Chair Joint Legislative Budget Committee Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee State Capitol, Room 5035 Sacramento, CA 95814 Honorable John Laird, Chair Assembly Budget Committee State Capitol, Room 6026 Sacramento, CA 95814

Attention: Peggy Collins, Consultant

Subject: Notification of Indian Gaming Revenue Sharing Trust Fund Revenue

Shortfall for FY 2007-08

Dear Senator Ducheny and Assemblymember Laird:

Pursuant to Government Code Section 12012.90(e)(1), the California Gambling Control Commission (Commission) hereby provides the anticipated total amount of shortfalls in payment likely to occur in the Indian Gaming Revenue Sharing Trust Fund (RSTF) to be transferred from the Indian Gaming Special Distribution Fund (SDF) for the upcoming fiscal year.

The RSTF serves as the depository for payments made by Tribes that acquire and maintain gaming device licenses and provides disbursements to eligible, Non-Compact Indian tribes (federally-recognized tribes that are operating fewer than 350 Gaming Devices). The Commission, as the administrator for the RSTF, is required to make quarterly distributions from the RSTF in accordance with the Tribal-State Gaming Compacts (Section 4.3.2.1) and Government Code section 12012.90(e)(2). Each eligible tribe receives \$275,000 quarterly, for an annual total distribution of \$1.1 million.

Annual RSTF revenues are insufficient to fully fund RSTF distributions to eligible Non-Compact Tribes. Government Code sections 12012.85 and 12012.90 authorize moneys in the SDF to be used to make payments to eligible Non-Compact Tribes for shortfalls that occur in the RSTF, in addition to other authorized purposes.

For FY 2007-08, the Commission estimates that 71 Tribes would be eligible for RSTF distributions, for total estimated RSTF payments of \$78.1 million. Estimated RSTF revenue projections for FY 2007-08 total \$39.4 million. Accordingly, the Commission anticipates total RSTF shortfalls to be transferred from the SDF in FY 2007-08 of \$38.7 million. These estimates assume the ratification and implementation of the five amended Compacts that are pending before the Legislature.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Anna Carr, Deputy Director of Legislation and Public Affairs, at (916) 263-0494.

Sincerely,

Dean Shelton Chairman

Dean Shelton

cc: Members, Joint Legislative Budget Committee

Honorable Dennis Hollingsworth, Vice Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee

Honorable Mike Machado, Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee No. 4

Honorable Tom Torlakson, Chair, Senate Appropriations Committee

Honorable Dave Cox, Vice Chair, Senate Appropriations Committee

Honorable Roger Niello, Vice Chair, Assembly Budget Committee

Honorable Mark Leno, Chair, Assembly Appropriations Committee

Honorable Mimi Walters, Vice Chair, Assembly Appropriations Committee

Honorable Juan Arambula, Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 4

Ms. Keely Bosler, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee No. 4

Mr. Dave Lewis, Fiscal Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office

Ms. Maureen Ortiz, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee

Mr. Charles Wright, Consultant, Office of the President Pro Tempore

Mr. Jerome Encinas, Consultant, Office of Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman

Mr. Janus Norman, Principal Consultant, Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 4

Mr. Allan Cooper, Senior Consultant, Assembly Republican Fiscal Office

Ms. Julie Salley-Gray, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee

Mr. George Wiley, Consultant, Office of the Assembly Speaker

Mr. Todd Jerue, Program Budget Manager, Department of Finance

Mr. E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk of the Assembly

Mr. Gregory Schmidt, Secretary of the Senate

Ms. Diane Boyer-Vine, Legislative Counsel

Mr. Jason Dickerson, Senior Fiscal & Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office

Mr. Chris Kahn, Legislative Secretary, Office of the Governor

Mr. Michael Prosio, Chief Deputy Legislative Secretary, Office of the Governor

Ms. Cynthia Bryant, Deputy Chief of Staff and Director of OPR, Office of the Governor

Mr. Dan Dunmoyer, Cabinet Secretary, Office of the Governor

Ms. Janet Coles, Senior Librarian, California State Library