Frequently Asked Questions


For all COVID-related updates, please click HERE.



Applications, Supplemental Information Forms, and Live Scan:

1) I have a question regarding the submission of an application or the fees associated.

2) Supplemental Information Form - Subsection 4: Criminal Convictions/Pending, Current and Past Litigation and Arbitration.

    Do I need to disclose a conviction that occurred over 5, 10, 15 or 20 years ago?

      YES. As stated in the Supplement Information form, you are required to disclose any and all criminal convictions regardless of the date of the conviction, no matter how old the conviction is. For more information regarding the criminal history portion of the Supplemental Information Form, please reference the Commission's educational video titled "Criminal Convictions Background Overview" found HERE.


3) Do I need to disclose a conviction if I had it reduced, expunged, or dismissed?

    YES. As stated in the Supplement Information Form, you are required to disclose any and all criminal convictions regardless if the conviction has been reduced, expunged or dismissed. For more information regarding the criminal history portion of the Supplemental Information Form, please reference the Commission's educational video titled, "Criminal Convictions Background Overview" found HERE.


4) Do I need to disclose a traffic violation where I only received a ticket?

    It is the applicant's responsibility to verify the circumstances and status of all crimes. A traffic violation, even those where only a ticket was received, may be a misdemeanor conviction. If unsure, an applicant should err on the side of over disclosing. For more information regarding the criminal history portion of the Supplemental Information Form, please reference the Commission's educational video titled, "Criminal Convictions Background Overview" found HERE.


5) Supplemental Information Form - Section 9: Business Interest – Non-Gaming Related. Do I have to disclose a business where I have less than 1% interest?

    Yes, if you've held the interest within the last 10 years. The supplemental form requires applicants to list any non-gaming related business entity within the last 10 years.


6) Is the Spousal Form required with every renewal even if you are not married?

    Yes, the Spousal Form is required for all applicants. If an applicant is not married, then the applicant can write N/A (not applicable) on the form and sign the form.


7) Where can I find a Live Scan location?

    You may find a live scan location in your area HERE. Please keep in mind that fees vary from location to location.


8) Are fingerprints required at renewal time?

    Yes, all applicants who are residents of the State of California are required to submit a Live Scan along with your renewal application. If an applicant is a not a resident of the State of California, then two applicant fingerprint cards are required. Live Scan is a system for the electronic submission of fingerprints and the subsequent automated background checks and responses. The forms for a Live Scan are on the Commission's "Forms" page HERE. Live Scans are performed at the Department of Justice's approved locations found HERE. Fingerprint cards have a similar purpose but utilize forms provided by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and require the assistance of the Bureau of Gambling Control.


9) Does my spouse need to get live scanned/fingerprinted?

    Yes.


10) Why does my spouse need to get live scanned/fingerprinted?

    A spouse needs to submit fingerprints to ensure they are not a threat to the public interest, which would/could have an impact on the license application.


11) What is my Associated Owner Category Licensee (first page of CGCC-CH2-04 and CGCC-CH2-10)?

    The Associated Owner Category Licensee is the TPPPS/Gambling Establishment an applicant is employed by.


12) Do I have to disclose information related to my conviction, employment, residential, and licensing history if I previously provided it to the Bureau on a prior application, but I don't currently have a valid license?

    If an applicant does not have a currently valid license, then they must disclose all information requested on the application and supplemental, even if it was previously disclosed to the Bureau


13) Do I need to disclose a termination from a previous employer?

    Yes, if you were terminated from an employer within the last 10 years, you are required to disclose the termination and provide a clear statement for the reason for leaving.


14) What is an employment agreement? What if I don't have one?

    An employment agreement is an agreement between an employee and the employer for the purposes of laying out the rights, responsibilities, and obligations of both parties. If no agreement exists, please indicate "N/A" on the supplemental information form.


15) Do I need to submit an Appointment of Designated Agent form even if I do not have a Designated Agent?

    No. A form is only required if you wish to appoint a Designated Agent.


16) Tribal Key Employee - If I've already disclosed information (termination, conviction, etc.) to my gaming office or Tribal Gaming Agency (TGA), do I need to disclose it in the Supplemental Information Form?

    Yes, even though your TGA is aware of your information, you still need to answer all questions on the Supplemental Information Form completely and accurately.


Back to top

Bingo:

1) How can I start a Bingo Game/Hall?

    The California Gambling Control Commission does not regulate Bingo. As a result you will need to inquire with your local jurisdiction.


2) If I have a Bingo related issue, who do I contact?

    Bingo is regulated and enforced by local law enforcement.


Back to top

Cardrooms:

1) Is there a list of Cardrooms for sale?

    The Commission does not have a list of cardrooms for sale. Click HERE to view a list of current cardrooms with active licenses as well as the cardrooms that hold an active license, but currently are not in operation.


2) How do I request additional tables for my Cardroom?

    Complete the form Cardroom Business License: Gaming Tables (CGCC-CH7-07, Rev 02/21), which can be found on the Commission's website HERE.


3) I would like to change the name of my Cardroom, what will I need to do?

4) Can I buy a Cardroom from a current owner?

    A person (or entity) can enter into a Purchase Agreement to purchase a cardroom business or a portion of the business. This requires that the interested party submit to the Bureau of Gambling Control the proper documentation along with all of the appropriate fees. The Purchase Agreement/Transaction must be approved by the Commission. For additional information you may contact the Bureau of Gambling Control at (916) 830-1700.


5) If I buy a Cardroom from a current owner, can I move the cardroom to a different location?

    Yes, you can with limitations. The relocation must be investigated by the Bureau of Gambling Control and subsequently approved by the Commission prior to resuming operations in a new location. You need to complete the following form: Notice of Relocation (CGCC-CH7-02, Rev. 01/21) which can be found on the Commission's website HERE.


6) Can I open a new Cardroom?

    Currently there is a moratorium on new cardrooms until January 1, 2023; therefore, no new cardrooms that do not comply with the terms of the moratorium may be opened.


7) Whom do I contact if a licensee (Cardroom Owner, Key Employee, Third-Party Provider Owner, Supervisor, or Worker, etc.) has passed away?

7) Whom do I contact if a licensee (Cardroom Owner, Key Employee, Third-Party Provider Owner, Supervisor, or Worker, etc.) has passed away?

8) Whom do I contact for a follow-up compliance site visit?

    The Bureau of Gambling Control is the agency responsible for ensuring compliance. Please call (916) 830-1700 for assistance.


9) How do I request conditions be removed from my License, Commission Work Permit, or Finding of Suitability?

    You may submit your request in writing by contacting your assigned Bureau of Gambling Control Licensing Analyst. If you do not know your assigned analyst, please email gamblingcontrol@doj.ca.gov or call (916) 830-1700.


10) Where can I view the conditions placed on my License?

    You can view the current conditions place on your license on the Commission's website HERE.


11) How do I obtain a Commission Work Permit?

    First, work with your hiring agency on the requirements for obtaining a Commission Work Permit. The Commission is responsible for issuing Commission Work Permits in jurisdictions where the local jurisdiction (city and/or county) does not issue them. Applications for Commission Work Permits (CGCC-CH2-04, New 05/20 & CGCC-CH2-10, New 5/20) can be found on the Commission's website HERE: For more information regarding submitting an application, please reference the Commission's educational video titled, "Understanding the Application and Background Process" found HERE.


Back to top

Commission Meetings:

1) How can I be notified of upcoming Commission meetings?

    Meeting dates are posted on the Commission's website on the Commission Meetings webpage. You may request to receive the meeting agenda notices via electronic mail by subscription on the Commission's website HERE. In addition, you may submit your request by calling (916) 263-0700, faxing to (916) 263-0452 or writing to the Commission at the following address:

    California Gambling Control Commission
    2399 Gateway Oaks Dr. Suite 220
    Sacramento, CA 95833-4231


2) I have been notified that I am scheduled to be considered at an upcoming Commission Meeting, what should I do next? Am I required to attend?

    a) You may contact the Commission by emailing Licensinginfo@cgcc.ca.gov or calling the Commission's Licensing Line at (916) 263-6292 to confirm attendance or request further information. In addition, if you are represented by a Designated Agent, you should speak to the Designated Agent prior to the Commission Meeting.

    b) You are encourage to attend the Commission Meeting that your application is scheduled to be considered. Non-attendance may result in a delay of action on your application if further information is needed or requested by a Commissioner.


3) I was approved at a Commission Meeting, what should I expect next?

    You and/or your Designated Agent will be notified in writing of the outcome of the Commission Meeting.


4) Will I be notified when my application is being considered by the Commission?

    Yes, you and/or your designated agent will receive written notification from the Commission with the date and time that your application will be considered.


Back to top

Complaints:

1) Where can I file a complaint?

    For information on filing a complaint, please click HERE.


Back to top

Evidentiary Hearing:

1) My License has been referred to a Gambling Control Act (GCA) or Administrative Procedures Act (APA) evidentiary hearing. What happens next?

    a) If your matter has been referred to a GCA evidentiary hearing, you will be contacted by Commission Legal staff about scheduling your evidentiary hearing at the contact number and/or address you provided.

    b) If your matter has been referred to an APA evidentiary hearing, you will be contacted by the Indian Gaming and Law Section (IGLS) for further information and scheduling.

    c) For more information regarding and additional pre-hearing, hearing, and post-hearing FAQs, please visit the Commission's Administrative Hearings webpage.


2) What is the appeal process if an application is denied?

    If your application has been denied, you will receive a written decision that discloses your appeal options. These include request reconsideration of the decision within 30 days of service under Title 4, CCR section 12064, as well as seeking review with the court under Business and Professions Code section 19870(e).


Back to top

License Verifications:

1) I need to submit a Licensing Verification to the Commission. What should I do?

2) How can I check the status of my license?

    To search the license database please click HERE.


Back to top

Regulations/Rulemaking:

1) Where can I obtain a summary of the Commission's past regulatory actions?

    The Index of Rulemaking Files found on the Regulations page of the Commission's website includes a summary of each of the Commission's past regulatory actions.


2) Where can I obtain the Commission's regulations that are in effect?

    The Commission's current regulations may be accessed through the Regulations tab of the Commission's website. There is also a link on that page to the publication, California Gambling Law; Regulations and Resource Information, published by the Commission. A hardcopy of the publication may be requested directly by contacting the Division of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs at lawsandregs@cgcc.ca.gov or by phone at (916) 263-0700.


3) How can members of the public obtain information about proposed regulations and regulation changes?

    The Commission maintains mailing lists of interested parties who have asked to receive information on regulatory actions, including; regulation workshop invitations, regulation hearing notices, and other rulemaking (regulation) information and documents. The rulemaking lists are NOT used for mailing regular Commission meeting notices, agendas or minutes. If you are not already on one of the Commission's rulemaking mailing lists and wish to be added, you can sign up by entering the applicable information on the Rulemaking Mailing List Email Subscription page of the Commission's website.


4) How can members of the public participate in the rulemaking process?

    The Commission encourages anyone who wishes to participate in the rulemaking process to participate. You may submit written comments relevant to a specific regulation proposal during the written comment period by letter or e-mail. There is a link on the Proposed Regulations page of the Commission's website that may be used to submit comments by e-mail. You may also attend and participate at any public meeting. All upcoming rulemaking meetings, workshops, hearings and informational links for proposed regulations can be found on the Commission's Home Page, or this information may be accessed through the Regulations tab.


Back to top

Self Restriction/Self-Exclusion:

1) How can I request a self-restriction, self-exclusion, or request to remove my self-exclusion?

    Please see the "Responsible Gambling Forms" found HERE. The forms contain instructions and contact information. For more information, please click HERE.


2) What can I self-restrict myself from?

    Self-restriction is an agreement to have restricted access to specific gambling establishments, or to the issuance of credit, check cashing, or marketing, from a particular licensed cardroom. Self-Restriction periods are dictated by individual cardrooms and can vary from cardroom to cardroom. All Self-Restriction forms are kept and maintained in the individual cardrooms. For more information, please click HERE.


3) Is self-restriction and exclusion permanent?

    Self-restriction is an irrevocable, voluntary agreement to have restricted access to specific gambling establishments, or to the issuance of credit, check cashing, or marketing, from a particular licensed cardroom. Self-exclusions can be removed by submitting a Self-Exclusion Removal Request form found HERE. For more information, please click HERE.


Back to top

Special Distribution Fund (SDF) and Revenue Sharing Trust Fund (RSTF):

1) Where do I send my quarterly contribution; and, to whom do I make it payable?

    Send to: California Gambling Control Commission
                     2399 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 220
                     Sacramento, CA 95833-4231

    Payable to: California Gambling Control Commission


2) Where can I get financial information about cardrooms and Tribal casinos?

    Financial and revenue information for individual cardrooms and Tribal casinos is confidential and protected by law and the Tribal-State Gaming Compacts; therefore, Tribal financial information cannot be disclosed to the public. (Also see: Gambling Control Act 19819, 19821)


Back to top

Third Party:

1) Do I need to request and pay the $25 temporary badge fee in order to start working right away?

    An applicant can't work without a valid license or temporary license. If the applicant would like to work while they are going through the background investigation, they must request and receive a temporary license first. For more information regarding badges, please reference the Commissions' educational video titled "Badge Requirements", found HERE.


2) If I am not eligible for a temporary license, and I received a temporary license denial letter, can I still undergo the background process and be considered for a full employee license? Can I work as a TPPPS employee during this time?

    Yes, an applicant's application will still proceed and undergo a background investigation if they have been denied a temporary license unless the applicant requests, and is approved by the Commission, to withdrawal their license application. However, the applicant may not work in a capacity that requires licensure while they are waiting for their regular license to be considered by the Commission for approval.


Back to top

Tribal Key Employees:

1) What information do I need to submit and when?

    Tribal Key Employees should work directly with their Tribal Gaming Agency to ensure the appropriate information is submitted to the Bureau of Gambling Control timely.


2) If I've already disclosed information (termination, conviction, etc.) to my gaming office or Tribal Gaming Agency (TGA), do I need to disclose it in the Supplemental?

    Yes, even though your gaming office is aware of your information, you still need answer all questions on the Supplemental completely and accurately.


Back to top

Vendors/Gaming Resource Suppliers:

1) What is the difference between a Gaming Resource Supplier Finding of Suitability and a Manufacturer or Distributor of Gambling Equipment Registration?

    A Gaming Resource Supplier Finding of Suitability allows a business to provide products and services to a California Tribal Casino. A Manufacturer or Distributor of Gambling Equipment Registration allows a business to distribute, sell, lease, inspect, test, repair, refurbish or store gambling equipment in California or for use in California.


2) When should a Gaming Resource Supplier send their initial application for finding of suitability?

    A Gaming Resources Supplier (as referred to as a vendor) should send their initial application to the Bureau after obtaining a gaming license from at least one California Tribal Gaming Agency and conducting at least $25,000 within a 12-month period in business with that agency.


3) Where can I view the Conditions placed on my Finding of Suitability?

    You can view the current conditions place on your license on the Commission's website HERE.


Back to top